WE ARE ALL CNN (Or New Media That Matters)

The email I got a few days ago (which I posted on this site) really bothered me. I felt an an intense need to do something but I didn’t know what.

How can we find out the truth?

How can we learn what’s really going on?

So here’s what I decided to do.


I’m putting up $1000.00 of my own cash to send 2 people to New Orleans and the Gulf Region for a weekend to find out what’s really going on.

I’m going to supply you with a cool ass video/camera,a place to stay and a rental car.

Look at it as a vacation that matters.

I want you to document what you see.

Stay out of the tourist traps and talk to real people.

Get their stories and get to the truth of what’s really going on in the region.

And I’ll post it on this site and some others.

I want you to go deep.

Follow up on some of the rumours.

It’ll probably be kind of scary. (It may even be dangerous.) But this is the United States of America and this is one of the most important stories of our time.

I write a lot about change, institutional collapse and personal empowerment. I don’t write enough about responsibility.

I feel we all have a responsibility to do what we can.

So if you feel like getting from behind you laptop and getting at the truth, email me.

If you own a company or blog or just feel the urge to want to help with the expenses email me. We can set up sponsorships of some kind. Corporations sponsor old media anyway so I have no problem with that.

Let’s put the tools at our disposal to use and get at the truth and then pass it along

.

I’m sure my lawyer is freaking out.

Fuck that.

Let’s do something important.

[RELOADED: Doing this is not an attack against regular journalism. It's just that there are things I think myself and others are interested in that is not or hasn't been reported by mainstream journalism. That's why we are using this approach.

Thanks to everyone who wants to be involved. I will be in contact with you within 24 hours.]

Explore posts in the same categories: blog networks, CNN, Gulf Coast, making a difference, Mississippi, new media, New Orleans, reporters, Truth

84 Comments on “WE ARE ALL CNN (Or New Media That Matters)”


  1. genius – now anybody can TRY and get the truth. Good use of your reach. I hope this plays out as good as your intentions.

  2. Brian Says:

    Your lawyer is fine with it. Proud even.

  3. Mark Says:

    That’s a cool idea Char. I congratulate you on being so bold to do something like this.

    I’d like to offer a thought on this, if I may.

    Last year, I evacuated my family from Houston, when we thought our area was going to be slammed by Cat 5 hurricane, Rita. After safely getting to San Antonio after a 19 hour drive (typically just under 3 hours), nothing irked me as much as seeing some “strangers” in the form of talking heads from the news agencies and their headquarters in New York telling everyone how bad the experience was, when they had no real clue.

    Instead of opening this up to just any “stranger” to report on the goings on there, why not offer it to the residents themselves who live it day in and day out. Who have the way it is now to compare with the way it was prior? Some of who, no doubt, could really use the money.

    I mean you can’t really get a true perspective from someone who’s never gone through a disaster like a hurricane or flood, or dealt with the likes of FEMA through a crisis.

    Just a thought.

  4. rafi Says:

    I agree with Mark’s point but there is a counter-argument that an outsider may be able to offer some wider (not deeper) perspective. As this video will be geared torwards the world outside of New Orleans, an outsider might be a more relatable p.o.v. for the viewer as well.

    In any case, I’m plugging this at Oh Word. Great idea.

  5. Minic Rivera Says:

    The Blogging Times would like to sponsor $250 for this noble plan of getting the truth out.

  6. candice Says:

    Mark, rafi, someone who is not here may also be less cynical. I like the outsider perspective part of the idea, people here are happy that the outside world still cares.

    All of us here have a “that asshole from $elsewhere” story, about getting told we’re an idiot for living here, blah blah blah…

    And you’re giving me flashbacks with that top picture. September. Ugh. Spent three hours in line one day trying to get into jefferson parish and the line was backed up thirty miles to Gramercy.

    All I can offer is to help pick up the bar tab.


  7. Minic – nice one.

  8. Shii Says:

    I’d love to do this. Too bad I don’t have a friend who could drive me around. :(

  9. range Says:

    That is even better than NewAssignment.net, directly sending guys/gals into the newszone and reporting from the front lines.


  10. Mel Gibson’s DUI and Katrina

    50 million blogs can’t be all wrong. Twice in the past week, I have read information on a blog that I had not found or seen in the mainstream press.  To start, was a report published this weekend about Mel…


  11. Just give the word boss.


  12. Start Spreading the News

    Chartreuse–our blogging friend who built a reputation by talking about what’s happening in media–has just decided to make something happen in media. In a dramatic post this morning, he decided to send new media journalists straight into the reconst…


  13. I WILL DO IT, EMAIL ME

  14. Matt Says:

    I’m in for $250. I think we can do a true citizens media event here.

    Matty

  15. Tyler Prete Says:

    If this is still a real possibility, I am interested. I would have to work out the details, but I am fairly sure I could get the time off work to do this. I could probably convince a friend to go with me as the 2nd person as well, which would be nice but not a requirement. Email me if you’d like to discuss this further.

  16. Ryan Says:

    Give me the word, my buddy and I are out there.

  17. Brent Says:

    Nice propaganda blog.

    Don’t get the wrong idea, I am all for helping people, but let’s not twist the truth. Many of these people were dirt poor BEFORE the hurricane swept away their dirt.

  18. Tyler Prete Says:

    I just confirmed with my friend that he would definitely be willing to go with me. We are also willing to spend some of our own money, although the help would of course be helpful and appreciated. He was in New Orleans last year before Katrina and so has a little bit of familiarity with the area, and a great interest in seeing what has happened. I have a laptop and would be willing to document and blog the entire trip.

  19. widget Says:

    columnist chris rose has lived in nola for years and has been doing EXACTLY WHAT YOU ARE AFTER SINCE KATRINA

    wake up, folks. the media is not always an enemy. really.

  20. widget Says:

    READ THE TIMES-PICAYUNE

    they’ve won a pulitzer for the coverage that you’re attempting to do

    you’re wasting your money and don’t have the experience to try this

  21. candice Says:

    Chris Rose is doing ‘life on the ground’ and responding to current events, more than actual reporting. Mind you he’s doing a great job of it, but more voices are always a good thing.

    And Brent, because they were poor means people don’t deserve help why? It’s not like the “well off” are getting any help either. Chartreuse is from here, he knows these things.

  22. widget Says:

    more voices? christ, the ENTIRE STAFF of the t-p has been writing about this — hell, living through it — for a year now. they were forced to evacuate their building by boat. they’re still sharing houses as much of the staff lost what they had.

    this blog reads like there hasn’t been in-depth coverage and there has. loads and loads of it.

    increase your media intake. read newspapers. they’re doing exactly what TV isn’t. going in-depth.

    and not all of us are corporate controlled. really.

  23. rafi Says:

    lol @ widget’s indignation

    “don’t have the experience to try this”

  24. rafi Says:

    damn the end of my comment got cut off cuz i used an arrow. it said….

    “don’t have the experience to try this”

    ^ worst thing in the world to say to a bunch of bloggers

  25. widget Says:

    and i’m amused that you guys seem to think this isn’t being done.

    fine, want to go and play reporter and re-report everything the T-P has done? waste of time and money but, hey, go ahead and get in the way of work being done down there. have fun guys!

  26. candice Says:

    I wonder what newspaper widget works for.

  27. widget Says:

    OK, fine, i come across as pissed off. but i’m a reporter, have been for more than 20 years, work for an independent news organization, know hundreds of reporters doing exceptional work and it’s just so disappointing to read threads like this.

    it seems that so many bloggers watch CNN or Fox and then are angry that the so-called MSM isn’t reporting “the truth” or “going in-depth”

    but we are, every day, thousands of us across the country. that’s what we’ve dedicated ourselves to. it’s like a calling for me and many of my colleagues.

    we’re not the enemy. really.

    the times-pic staff is STILL working seven days a week to cover this disaster. they deserve our support.

    i just feel it’s a waste of your time and money to do what they’ve already been doing for months and months.

    and when i mean experience i mean THEY KNOW THE CITY, they live there. to drop in and do spot reporting is the most difficult and challenging job in journalism, even for those of us who have done it for decades.

    i’m sorry, but hey, give us shoe-leather reporters a little slack here.

  28. widget Says:

    (candice i’ve worked for many, since 1978)

  29. Tor Says:

    I would worry about footage getting confiscated if one was to film any of the military and police malfeasance that has been alleged. See if you can find a way to transmit video . . .

  30. Liz Strauss Says:

    i think it’s a find idea and I’m giong blog about it tonight too.

  31. howard Says:

    Where is site security.

  32. Mark Says:

    For those of you who are interested, my brother-in-law is the managing editor for the Beaumont, TX newspaper. He stayed on through Hurricane Rita and talked openly about the experience of working in a desimated building, making due with limited resources, dealing with a tree crashing through his house, and the frustrations / surprises of dealing with FEMA and other relief agencies.

    It’s about as honest a report you could possibly get from a reporter when he’s not officially on duty. While it would be unfair to try and compare it to Katrina, I would hope that maybe his truthful and eye-opening report might serve as some kind of template of a fully rounded report to anyone who would take up your offer.

  33. Mark Says:

    Hmm, the link didn’t come through, here’s to trying again –

    http://thetrashpalace.blogspot.com/2005_09_01_thetrashpalace_archive.html

  34. dr. gonzo Says:

    This is amazing. You are amazing. I am so down. I sent an email. Don’t worry, my status as a former journalist won’t hurt the cause, it will only help.

    -Dr. Gonzo (recovering journalist–now just a writer)

    Imagine if they let actual writers write the news, pipe dreams that elude the conglomerates in the news media these days.

  35. medparadise Says:

    I’m a former journalism major and recent graduate of medical school. I’ve got a weekend to spare and much inspiration. Shoot me a line.


  36. Bravo for this great approach to really getting at what the CNN soundbites miss. The idea of Citizen Journalism is one I hope catches on. Put the video on YouTube or someting like it, and get a few million hits, and you will have outdone all shallow cable news shows.

  37. Brent Says:

    Candice, I said that I am all for helping people. I think that this is a good thing. And just so you know, many of the well off, decided to rebuild themselves, rather than wait for public assistance. It’s called controlling your own destiny.

    What I was saying, is that the actual reality of this, is being portrayed in a fashion that isn’t exactly authentic.

    Since these people were already poor for years and years before the hurricane, perhaps the entire system needs to be addressed –like the fact that they are poor and living in total dependence, on welfare. Instead of small handouts, that keep people on the borderline of starvation, we ought to instead help them find ways to earn a living. Everybody has talents. Everybody has something which they do well. A better way to spend all of this government handout money, would be to help people learn how they can be productive and contributors to society. Good education is the foundation of this. Bill Cosby agrees with this.

    Apparently this welfare approach is not actually helping people achieve success and get ahead in life.

    These people were too poor to take a bus trip to get away from the hurricane. This is awful. However, I blame the system which allows people to live like that in the first place.

    We should measure welfare’s success by how many people leave welfare, not by how many are added.

    –Ronald Reagan

    Understand the point? A lot of these people already needed help BEFORE the hurricane. Where was Anderson Cooper before Katrina hit? Where were the tears before Katrina? They were from, and from alone –the victims of government sponsored poverty –a.k.a. welfare recipients, who have been led to believe that the government will take care of them, in exchange for votes.

    Time to wake up and smell the French Roast people.

  38. Andy H Says:

    Andy Hagans Link Building LLC is in for 100usd. [/cheapskate]

  39. Andy H Says:

    What’s the paypal addie btw?

  40. candice Says:

    Brent, your initial comment did not sound that way. Thanks for the clarification of your point. And I agree, we do have a lot of things to fix. Hopefully the charter schools movement will be a start. People here are excited about having choices for public schools.

    And yes. I get the point. I live here, you know, and I’m one of the lucky people – I didn’t lose nearly as much as most people did.

    That’s the thing though, it’s not just the poor. It’s everyone. It’s the middle class household struggling to get by paying mortgage payments and rent while they fight with contractors and insurance. It’s the elderly couple who owned their home and lived on such a fixed income so that they did not have enough insurance coverage because well, the house never flooded before.

    A lot of the people waiting are waiting on insurance more than the government, you know, insurance that people paid premiums for years on. (Quite a lot of people had their mortgage companies pay off their mortgages with flood insurance money, not leaving them with any money to repair a house with. Former boss of mine is in that boat.)

  41. Jaime Says:

    I think the sentiment is good but the idea is insane. It’s not like we are talking about some place half way round the world. This is actually the US (though it may look like a 3rd world country in a lot of places). If you want to know what is going on – it’s not hard. Ask us – there are a lot of us already here. I will email you with my email and phone number. I would be more than happy to give you a real report on the actual situation down here. If you don’t like that read the TP – They have done a GREAT JOB. You won’t see the same stories you see on AP or in other papers. Listen to our talk radio at http://www.wwl.com – whatever is on our minds and going on in our lives is certainly being covered there.

    You are right when you think you have not gotten the real story – that is entirely true – but not in the context that you are thinking. Chasing phantoms is senseless when there are true horrors going on – they are just as bad, just not as glamorous.

  42. meettravis Says:

    Idea.
    send Amanda “UnBoomed” Congdon

  43. Zack Says:

    Not like this post needs another opinion, but…AWESOME idea.

    Sure, others may have covered the topic, but when is coverage of a disaster too much? Who decides something like that?

    Perhaps a new perspective would be refreshing to say the least.

    -Zack

  44. Ben Says:

    Um, I relocated to New Orleans two months ago and I’ve been living a fairly normal and productive life in the Treme neighborhood, offering architectural/sustainabilty advice to people while helping rebuild a house in the Lower Ninth Ward. Depending on where you go in the city, you get a different picture of what’s really going on.

    Visit Uptown and you’ll think everything is fine; go to Lakeview and Gentilly and you’ll see empty houses; go to the Lower Ninth Ward and you’ll find _lots_ of empty houses; wander the Central Business District and marvel at all the Humvees; go to the Bywater and enjoy some music; go to the French Quarter and get a beer (to go).

    Since the rebuilding is moving along slowly (but surely), there’s nothing very sensational about reporting that John Doe found a drywall crew; or that Jane Smith finally got her wi-fi network hooked up; or that whatever coffee shop is open again. MSNBCNN feed on sensationalism, and if it ain’t sensational, then it ain’t news.

    As posted above, you simply need to visit the local news media websites: The Times-Picayune, Gambit Weekly, and definitely read Chris Rose’s reports.

    Just get down here and do your little journalism experiment – every person you meet has a story to tell…

  45. Patrick Says:

    Ben has it right; things are actually fairly normal there (I moved to California in October, but still visit my parents/brothers/high school friends there). Grocery stores are open, BARS are open, schools are open (well, they’re closed for summer, but you get what I’m saying). It’s not like the government has forgotten about the city; reconstruction is moving along at a truly impressive pace. There are people with stories worth sharing, definitely, but no great, almighty “TRUTH” to be exposed or anything like that.

  46. Stephanie Wilson Says:

    Well I have some things I want to know.

    Are the civil rights violations that were hinted at (FEMA stopping people from talking to reporters) the only ones going on?

    Is it true that the state lost 300 prisoners that they put into custody after Katrina?

    Is it true that insurance companies are not paying people trying to rebuild?

    That’s just off the top of my head.

  47. going2hell Says:

    I believe that is an awesome idea. I just sent an email, I have a tried and tested Road Trip Partner with over 7,000 logged miles, and we love to meet people and get OPINIONS, capitalized because unless you’re a politician, it’s not genuinely recognized as an IDEA by enough people. No matter how many opinions you get, it depends on the person interpreting the opinion that gets the feeling and the motivation across. And to CASHADVANCE123, If it weren’t for CNN, then you would have to believe what their competition says. Look it up, stories differ way too much to believe what you see or hear from just one source. God, I hate politics…
    My Blog It’s only one article but it get’s the point across.

  48. Brent Says:

    CNN sucks

    Duh! Why do you think Fox news is the most watched cable network?

    I have a buddy who is a building contractor. He moved to the N.O. area several months ago. He has since told me that his business has never been better. The city is rebuilding and there is a spirit of high morale. Business is booming. Of course CNN does not want to portray this, because they need doom and gloom to have a story.

    I don’t think that I need to tell some of you that the same type of coverage is taking place in Iraq. Yes, there are bad things there, and there has been wreckage and destruction. But, there is a young democracy; a brand new country emerging from the rubble that loves it’s new freedom, but CNN does not want the average person to know this, because it will spoil their doom-and-gloom template, that their ratings thrive upon.

    I don’t want to bring up other issues, but I think it is important to make the point.

    Yes, New Orleans has seen disaster. However, playing the blame game is not fair. The insurance companies are probably not moving as fast as they could, but this needs to be put into perspective. Thousands of people lost a lot of their assets. Each household has to be dealt with individually, for settlements. This takes time. It hasn’t even been one year yet.

    And Candice, the reason that I bring up the poverty stricken, is because CNN chose to put its main focus on that. I watched it for 10 days straight on the coverage, until I finally tuned to other channels, because I was sick of seeing it. CNN and the other media networks completely ignored the more “well off” as you put it. They focused on the poverty stricken, primarily the black community, as if the storm clouds skipped white communities.

    As far as I’m concerned, all who were effected by this natural disaster ought to have equally fair treatment. However, insurance money, and free money are two completely different things.

    Donations are helpful, but how much money was wasted from the FEMA $2000.00 handouts.

    Should checks be written, or should drywall instead be donated?

    Lastly, where in the hell is Jimmy Carter and his Habitat for Humanities in all of this? Oh wait, he’s too busy supporting Hamas!

  49. candice Says:

    Brent, the levee breaches in New Orleans were not a “natural” disaster. That was man-made, shoddy engineering. Biloxi was a natural disaster. New Orleans is not.

    And I will reserve comment on people who think it’s normal and fine here.

  50. Liz Strauss Says:

    It seems that some folks have total faith in the media . . . that’s an interesting thought to me. I guess working in publishing has jaded that part of this Pollyanna.

    My dad always said don’t believe anything you hear and only half of what you see.

    My dad was a really smart man, too. He wuold have liked you a lot Chartreuse.


  51. [...] In the News Jul 31 at 10:33 pm by Matt -Chartreuse challenged the community today to send bloggers/videobloggers to New Orleans in a “citizen’s media” project to document the New Orleans experience. [...]

  52. Damit Says:

    Posts that discourage are troublesome to some extent. If the stone is lifed and there is nothing there, then so be it. The only harm in sending someone to report is to the mainstream media. They have their fists so tight around those ad dollars they are not going down without a fight.

  53. Tim Stay Says:

    Know More Media is on board to offer help as outlined in my post.

    Nice job of exercising your sphere of influence to make something happen and to do something about a problem you care about.

  54. Brent Says:

    That was man-made, shoddy engineering.

    Can the same be said about the WTC on 9/11? After all, the architecture could not withstand the heat from the fires –from the explosion –from the jets crashing into it –from the terrorists committing suicide…..

    Again, why play the blame game? And who are you going to blame for the shoddy levees?

    Wait, let me guess. Blame Bush! Or better yet, man-made global warming!

    Bush is the worst scapegoat for anything and everything that happens around the world, for one reason only: he never replies!

    If it is a levee problem, we are going back years and years. Sure it can be said that it is a levee problem. It is a problem, only when a level 5 hurricane drops several feet of rain on the lake.

    I wouldn’t say that the engineering was necessarily shoddy. It is out of date, technology wise. However, people who live in this area are aware of the risk of hurricanes, just like Californians are aware of the risk of earthquakes, and Illinoisans are aware of the risk of tornadoes.

    I don’t believe everything I see on TV, especially when it comes from CNN. Doom and gloom creates ratings and money. Just ask Ted Turner.

    I think what you are doing is a good thing.

    However, you donate cash, I will donate drywall and nails, mmkay? My buddy Jim is already down there taking care of that as we speak. I’ll give him a holler tomorrow and tell him to bill be for a wall.

    Again, I think what you are doing is great.

    I just wonder why you must cast blame on anyone. You know, accidents do happen. And, wouldn’t you say that the Mayor of N.O. didn’t do a very good job handling the situation? I knew that this storm was out to sea, heading that way, at least two days before it hit. That should be more than enough time to evacuate a city. That would never happen in Chicago, and there are just as many poor, if not more in Chicago.

    Are you telling me that New Orleans does not have any public transit system? It should be a requirement that the local government evacuate citizens using public transportation, in the event of an emergency of this level. It would have been worth the money, correct? Also, nobody would have died in this case, so if we must blame anyone, it ought to be those who were not bright enough to figure that out. I did, and I’m not a mayor. Perhaps Nagin, is just flat out, incompetent.

    You should not be defensive when someone questions you. I’m not questioning your good intentions. I only wonder why you must unfairly point fingers.

    But keep up the good work. If it helps one family, then you did a good thing.

  55. Jaime Says:

    Stephanie Wilson

    “Are the civil rights violations that were hinted at (FEMA stopping people from talking to reporters) the only ones going on?” The NAACP would be all over it. The city is being watched like none before. At this time most of the people working locally for FEMA are local. How on earth would FEMA control that? Not happening.

    “Is it true that the state lost 300 prisoners that they put into custody after Katrina?”
    I would have to research that one. I tend to think it is untrue but have no proof. There are lots of problems with the justice system here right now though. When you hear judges on the radio asking for volenteers for jury duty you know things are not exactly good.

    “Is it true that insurance companies are not paying people trying to rebuild?”
    Depends on the company and on the individual adjuster. No, many are not playing fair. My mother got less than $7,000 for her house which had the roof 1/2 torn off, all the vents torn off, ceilings fell in in 3/4ths of the house, whole fence down. None of that was water damage by the way – she was no where near a breach.

    And Brent

    we only have a year for insurance in Louisiana, less than any other affected state. Our time limit is just about up. Do you think they might have been dragging their feet for a reason?

    “Donations are helpful, but how much money was wasted from the FEMA $2000.00 handouts.” That is FEMA’s fault not the true victims. We spent tons more that that before we were able to come home – and we were lucky enough to have family kind enough to take us in. I don’t think there is a single evacuee that did not spend FAR FAR more than the $2000.00 – that was enough to get the most important things taken care of and I don’t know what we would have done without it. Dry wall would be great now but 11 months ago it would not have helped us at all. Most of us had a dufflebag and some photo albums (if we were lucky). Our needs then were a bit more immediate.

    And if you think that it was a waste of money by FEMA, think again. It is not a drop in the bucket compared to their other expenses. I’m not going to go into it now but I will say that the waste is enough to make you sick – and it is everywhere.

    And Candice is right. There is nothing natural about the damage in New Orleans. Read the introduction statement from the most recent IPET report if you don’t believe me (or the report for that matter). The corp. had to admit that they are directly responsible for more than 2/3 of the flooding. We should have had wet feet or not rooftops. New Orleans should not even be anything more than a footnote in the Katrina story. Instead we are the headline.

    Personally, I don’t think things are fine at all. I have not run across many who feel that way at all. Some are in the process of rebuilding but many, many more than that are at a complete stand still. 85% of the daycares are still closed. Hospital beds are still in critically short supply as are doctors and related staff. The water pressure is so low that firefighters have a very hard time dealing with much of anything. Things are better than they were but it is still pretty bad.

  56. ayyaz Says:

    It seems that some folks have total faith in the media . . .
    Pak Car

  57. candice Says:

    Thanks, Jaime.

  58. howard lindzon Says:

    Comment 62.

    Cool

    I ov being the first comment and hoped we would get to the good. Seems like we did. Mid day it looked ugl;y and I begged for site security. But the spirit of the idea wins out.

    Cool

  59. doctorj Says:

    ayyay,
    “It seems that some folks have total faith in the media . . .”
    If it is the Times Picayune, I do. If it is the national news, I don’t. I am afraid your group will fall into the same trap as the national news. New Orleans is such a different culture than your own that you will come in and report on a city that I will not recognize. PLEASE, if you do this, get a local to help. And by a local, I don’t mean someone that lived there a year ot two. I mean a native. Also, try several natives -poor, middle class, rich. Thank you so much for caring and please come down and report. Just be sure you are reporting and not just using our tragedy to get your political points across. We have been used as a political tool enough. New Orleanians deserve better than that.

  60. Rick Says:

    Not to be rude, but why don’t you go yourself? You’re originally from New Orleans, so you have some idea of what the system was like there pre-Katrina. Most people who would volunteer for something like this are going to be taking in their own biases, and you won’t know what they are. Then once they get there, you have no idea of their actual competence in performing an investigative task. It’s a nice idea, but I’m afraid the execution would leave a lot to be desired.

  61. Liz Strauss Says:

    doctorj Says:

    PLEASE, if you do this, get a local to help. And by a local, I don’t mean someone that lived there a year ot two. I mean a native. Also, try several natives -poor, middle class, rich.

    That’s such a key point — getting the story from the people who are living it, not from the folks who want to paint it or who are watching for whatever reason. Crawling inside the wrong head will only give you a tour of the wrong thoughts about things. It would seem sad to work hard only to get the story once removed and twice filtered.

  62. doctorj Says:

    I think this might be a good place to start for contacts.
    http://b.rox.com/

  63. Ankit Says:

    Chartreuse says take this Calacanics.
    Its a great thing you are doing, you might be next and true web 2.0 hero.

  64. Dr Nazli Says:

    Many of us, we see the inustice and we talk about it – but you take the step to do something about it. All good things be with you!

    Best,
    Dr Nazli

  65. Schroeder Says:

    YES — YOU ABSOLUTELY MUST HAVE A LOCAL.

    Countless numbers of national media — I’m talking professional reporters — come down here to stick their microphones and cameras in people’s business and sure, they can do do a topical story — all surface, but they are totally clueless when it comes to getting an in-depth story, find the real stories that merit attention, or even finding people who have a story to tell.

    Take a look at the local blog community. It’s one of the richest untold stories since Hurricane Katrina — it may be forming into the first truly vibrant electronic community of ideas exchange, storytelling, mutual support, and political persuasion in the world (no joke). It’s an amazing phenomenon, even if it’s uneven and nascient (keep in mind, these are people doing this on their own time).

    For audio content examples, try Community Gumbo.

    To the fellow above who celebrated WWL as an alternative, well, when everything else is top 40, I guess you could say that local talk is an alternative, but it’s still commercial, conservative, and sensationalist.

  66. Kristine Says:

    I’m in. I’m game. I know poverty. I know faces with pain. I know what it is to lose things that mean…what do you need me to do.

  67. Kristine Says:

    After some serious thought, reading a few things and taking into consideration my skills as an artist, poet and lyricist…along with my ability and pleasure in meeting new people I really believe this is something that should be done…but with a different angle than everything you guys are talking about. Reporting and sensationalsism is not the key here. Listening, absorbing and translating feelings through the written word, music, and art is what is needed…sounds corny, but it isn’t. And the end product would be a sellable work of art that would benifit churches and schools in the districts that so badly need it. I was trying to do this months ago. I am far from perfect. I have my own trroubles. Who doesn’t.
    Doing for others I am doing for myself. That’s how it works. Widget? What say you on this? Starting at a church and working outwards…any comments?


  68. I like your ideas Kristine. But I still feel that New Orleans and other gulf areas are doomed and there will be more Katrinas coming to that exact area. How does this factor in? The best thing we could do is help them people RELOCATE.


  69. [...] But there is a strong message being carried here and it may very well apply precisely to your immediate plans. [...]

  70. lisa Says:

    we would love to help. we could start a collection here at mcgill and raise a modest fund. maybe not much but it will be from our hearts.


  71. [...] Tomorrow afternoon I will be announcing who will be going on the trip to examine what’s going on in New Orleans and the Gulf Coast. [...]


  72. [...] Chartreuse announced today the composition of the team that he would be sending to New Orleans to extract the truth. They are (from left to right as shown in photo): [...]

  73. wale obinna Says:

    my name is wale obinna from nigeria although some people dislike to listen to peoples problems while some people are so kind in helping out. i’m a university dropped-out due to the fact that my parent cannot afford the payment, there is a truth about me i don’t know how to put hands in fraud and i can’t steal because i was not exposed to such a thing. please i did not ask for much but a little u feel u can send to me to help me i will accept it . please help me and God will help u .AMEN

  74. Daniel Toural Says:

    How you can ask anyone other than a resident who is trying to re-establish their home and life living there, is a mystery to me. I’m a resident of Baton Rouge. I have lived in New Orleans for twelve years. The jobs I had there were not glamorous and was exposed to the “less than fortunate” people there. For instance, my ex-mother-in-law could not read, did not own a car, and believed that if a crow landed on your roof, someone in that house would die. (For a real shocker, I was at her house drinking coffee. She had no AC. The windows and doors were all open. Fans on. A crow landed on the roof of her neighbors house. The neighbor died the next day. This was in the “9th Ward”) I have many other stories to tell, like the time I rented a haunted apartment. I endured Hurricane Andrew there. (Not such a big deal). But, hey, the idea of getting a camera and getting into the “gritty” there seems like a cool challenge.


  75. [...] Over the next few days I’m going to be posting some of what the team I sent to New Orleans found. [...]


  76. [...] You might recall that Chartreuse’s Prince Campbell put down his own money, which was added to by the Blogging Times, the Blogging Herald, and KnowMoreMedia, to send a film and interview team to New Orleans. The crew of three who will be going was announced today on a post on Chartreuse (BETA). The team of three includes: Mishikea Brathwaite: From Los Angeles, Calf., Travis Campbell: A New Orleans native who now lives in San Francisco, California, and Loren Feldman: From New York, New York. They will be helped when they get there by New Orleans resident, Candice Quates, friend and reader of Succesful Blog. [...]


  77. [...] As you know, all this week I’ll be running the final results on our New Orleans media experiment. But before the project even got started, myself and others took some serious beatings from some local New Orleans bloggers which were upset by the process. [...]

  78. internet Says:

    internet

    internet vwj internet
    home business vwj home business


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

