What Happens After What Comes Next

baby1

One of my favorite phrases is What Happens After What Comes Next. I didn’t make it up. It was the tagline from a book I didn’t read. (I did buy it, I just never read it.)

As the owner of a blog network it is important that you are keeping your eyes and ears open for trends.

That’s one of the reasons I use the phrase “internet media network management” instead of blog media network management, which is my primary focus today. Blogs are already morphing.

You need to be thinking about podcasts. You need to be thinking about video. You need to be thinking about cellphones.

Now all that may seem a bit hasty for those still trying to figure out how to find writers but it’s not. Really.

Look at ESPN. ESPN now tries to sell all their advertisers on TV and one other device (i.e. broadband, mobile,podcasts, etc.) They consider themselves a multi-platform company. And it is paying off. Over fifty percent of the deals they made last month during Mediaweek for $2 million or more — some 150 deals — were for TV plus one other platform.

Now if consider your business a ‘blog network’ you may be missing the boat. You are actually in the content business. And it is your job to sell your Brand of content across all advertising platforms.

If I want to listen to Cowboy’s rants while I work I should be able to.

If I want to watch John Evans on my cellphone I should be able to.

Sam Sugar should be able to show me actual clips of whatever perversions he talking about that I can download to my iPod. (Oh, he’s doing that? Of Course the sex industry is in front of the curve…)

The fact of the matter is, crossing platforms is not expensive. What’s the cost of adding a podcast? What’s the cost of using some cool software like visual communicator and including it on your blog so folks can watch or download.

Maybe it’s truly time to think like a media company and not a blog company.

I think it kind of shows how much farther ahead ‘Old Media’ has jumped ahead when ESPN is talking about crossing platforms and folks raised on the internet argue about where to place Google ads on their blogs.

espn

Oh, and here’s a full archived webcast of the presentation by George Bodenheimer, president of ESPN and ABC Sports. He talks about what I mentioned above and the future of ESPN. It takes place at Media Week.

Explore posts in the same categories: blog media, blog networks, BlogMedia, cowboy, money, Podcasting, sex, Weblog

3 Comments on “What Happens After What Comes Next”

  1. John Says:

    Charteuse, you can watch me on your cell phone any time you like. You’re not CIA are you?

  2. chartreuse Says:

    I can neither confirm nor deny that.🙂

  3. Cash Says:

    as-94783-sa

    nice blog.. i ll come back again :] greets


Leave a Reply

