Waking Up With The House On Fire

200116676-001.jpg

Almost 20 years ago to the day I was sitting in Mr. Amie’s English 4 class at John Ehret High School.

In the middle of class a sophmore girl I had made a joke about on the bus burst into the classroom with tears running down her face, screaming that she loved me and couldn’t believe I would make fun of her as I did.

She then stormed out as quickly as she came in.

I, of course was mortified, as any 17 yo kid student would be. The entire class just stared at me in absolute silence.

Mr. Amie then broke the silence by saying, “Mr. C., if you do not follow that woman you will regret it for the rest of your life.”

I got up and followed the girl to where she was sitting on a bench outside. I calmed her down and married her 5 years later.

Six years after that we got divorced.

20 years later she is still causing me havoc.

Moral of this story: Teachers are sometimes wrong.

Chartreuse (Beta) is now back in full operation.

Explore posts in the same categories: chartreuse (beta), ex-wives, personal

5 Comments on “Waking Up With The House On Fire”

  1. Liz Strauss Says:

    Having been a teacher, I second that statement.🙂

  2. Andy Hagans Says:

    That’s a pretty funny story. I wasn’t expecting that ending. I guess “real life” is like that.

  3. chartreuse Says:

    Yeah, it’s like that alright. Makes life more interesting I guess.


  4. […] I told him that I couldn’t do that since my wife and I only had about $22.00 in the entire world. […]


  5. […] My first wife proposed to me in the small town of Oppelousas, Louisiana. She had put together some beautiful words which included the following line: "Prince, I love you so much you never have to work. I would spend my life taking care of you." […]


Leave a Reply

