How To Become A Millionaire: A Step By Step Guide

b295.jpg

I used to be the program director at a small radio station in a small town called Opelousas, Louisiana.

One day the radio station owner called me into his office to give me some bad news. He was looking to sell the radio station and in 6-8 months I would probably be out of a job.

The reason he was telling me this was so that I wouldn’t make any long range plans.

He said he would give me a glowing recommendation because I was his first employee (a story for another day) and he liked me.

What happened next changed my life.

think fast

200297253-001.jpg

An idea hit me.

I told Mr. C don’t worry about giving me a glowing recommendation. What I wanted was free advertisments on the radio station. (The station was #1 in the market.)

I had decided right then I was going to open up a nightclub.

I figured with free ads on the radio station for 8 months I would do all right and then sell it for a profit.

Mr.C said that he didn’t know I had those kinds of resources and that I should buy his radio station for $250,000.

I told him that I couldn’t do that since my wife and I only had about $22.00 in the entire world.

He agreed to give me a resonable number of free ads till someone bought the station.

get it free

200267615-001.jpg

I first had to find a building.

There was a building in town that looked like it hadn’t been occupied in 10 years. The “for lease” number was disconnected and it took me 2 days to find the owner.

I told him I wanted to lease his building but I needed at least 3 months of free rent because I had to fix up the place first.

He was happy to lease me the building.

The building had been closed for years and was making him no money. The chance of getting free improvments and money was a good deal for him. He mailed me the key.

leverage what you got

ba63231.jpg

Monica and I spent 2 weeks cleaning the building but we still needed a lot of stuff before we could open. One of them were lights.

Now nightclub lights are expensive. I, of course, wanted a state of the art system but I couldn’t afford it.

I talked to few light guys in the city of New Orleans trying to make some kind of deal but no one was biting.

Then I met a guy in Lafeyette.

Once I explained to him that I had free advertising on the most popular radio station, in a town with nothing to do, he made me a deal.

He would lease me a state of the art light system for $2.

That was $2 for every person who walked through the door.

Since we would be charging a cover he wanted a cut of it.

I took the deal.

200252652-003.jpg

I made deals and promises to everyone for everything. In less than 3 weeks I had partnered, joint ventured, negotiated and begged my way into a 3000 sqft. full service nightclub. And had spent literally none of my own money.

get lucky

56197686.jpg

Then I got lucky.

On opening night, the biggest drug dealer in Central Louisiana was arrested at our club.

And a reporter took a picture which ended up in almost every paper in central Louisiana.

It was this rich looking guy in handcuffs standing next to the sign with the name of our club on it “Over The Edge”.

It was a cool shot.

Our name was embedded in public consiousness. And the club was a small town success.

200330017-001.jpg

My wife and I sold the club 4 months later and went to seek our fortune in Los Angeles.

2 months later, while working for a different crazy boss, I was reading Radio and Records and found out that Citadel Broadcasting had bought my old bosses radio station for 3.7 million dollars.

Lesson: I should have busted my ass for the $250,000.00

[reloaded: Usually i just snatch pics from Getty Images but the opening graphic was done by my friend LuckyLuLu. You can check out her blog here.]

lucky lulu.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: advertising, blog networks, chartreuse (beta), personal

17 Comments on “How To Become A Millionaire: A Step By Step Guide”

  1. Brian Clark Says:

    I’m getting tired of telling you “great story,” but great story!

  2. Robert Bruce Says:

    It’s the American Story.

    Obscurity. Risk. Failure. Success. Rinse. Repeat.

    A great story indeed.

  3. Anthony Says:

    When I was 5 years old I spent a year in a tiny town Louisiana.

  4. Anthony Says:

    Linville. Basically just a shop, three houses and a school. The next town nearby was Marion but the big city we used to frequent most was Monroe. My dad was doing consulting throughout the states in the 80s and because it was my first year at school I needed to be based somewhere and we had a friend in Linville who was school teacher so it was just logical that I would go to school there. I loved it. Good times.

  5. Anthony Says:

    Also I forgot to mention that I wish I had a friend that looked like LuckyLuLu.

  6. chartreuse Says:

    She’s very nice. And she is very pretty.
    She is also very married.
    But her blog is cool and she’s cool. She lives here in Tampa. You should see her house. It’s different to say the least. You can check pics out on her blog.

  7. Anthony Says:

    Mate, I’ll take your word for it, I don’t read personal blogs anymore. Quite addictive I’ve found. Might wake up in June and wonder where the last three months went.

  8. joseph Says:

    I like reading extra ordinary stories from various entrpreneurs who made to their dreams. On the other hand you could ask your ex-boss to give you shares in his company for a months that was left to wark for him.

    Putting all these aside, I an tell you, this could not have happened in England (in UK).

    Best of luck for your next successful story

  9. joe borg Says:

    look at This person he is so rich and making so much money that he is willing to share the secret with everyone, a very interesting ebook and the best thing is its completely free, take a look at it now before it is removed from the internet as it contains secret information that other rich people might not want us to know!

    http://imedia.atspace.com/rich.htm


  10. […] Back in my 20's when I was working at a radio station and owned a nightclub, George Fisher (one of the station djs) bought himself a Mitsubishi Eclipse. […]

  11. Heather Sextitbra Says:

    Hi….I really enjoyed your blog……but I have to say,there’s a far more easier way to make BIG money these days.
    A great opportunity has risen , an opportunitiy that can turn anyone into a millionaire with really no work at all and almost over night.
    Now I know what you’re thinking….this person is a nut.
    But listen to me for one minute.
    Only a small handful of people know about a world wide event that’s going to take place in 2006.
    This event will change the way we in America live forever.
    Those people know about this opportunity , and get in during the next several months will all become millionaires.
    Also this event will be broadcast on T.V. Radio….newspapers……and once this news breaks….only those people who have already done their 10 minutes of homework will become rich.
    And those who don’t will loose the millions of dollars that is waiting for them right now.
    And just think……. the best part is you only have to do about 10 minutes of reading and set this money maker into motion and sit back and watch the money come pouring in.
    Right now Millionaires are being made……if you want to learn more……go to this web address ( http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330006075085 )
    just copy and paste it in……….you won’t regret this…it will change your life forever.
    Thanks Heather
    P.S. If you see me at the web site in only my bra and panties….it was a dare by a millionaire friend….so to prove my point I almost bared it all.
    But this was done for advertising only……..but the Millionaire Maker….is for real.And baby it’s AWESOME

  12. Jona Sanders Says:

    Hi….I really enjoyed your blog……but I have to say,there’s a far more easier way to make BIG money these days.
    A great opportunity has risen , an opportunitiy that can turn anyone into a millionaire with really no work at all and almost over night.
    Now I know what you’re thinking….this person is a nut.
    But listen to me for one minute.
    Only a small handful of people know about a world wide event that’s going to take place in 2006.
    This event will change the way we in America live forever.
    Those people know about this opportunity , and get in during the next several months will all become millionaires.
    Also this event will be broadcast on T.V. Radio….newspapers……and once this news breaks….only those people who have already done their 10 minutes of homework will become rich.
    And those who don’t will loose the millions of dollars that is waiting for them right now.
    And just think……. the best part is you only have to do about 10 minutes of reading and set this money maker into motion and sit back and watch the money come pouring in.
    Right now Millionaires are being made……if you want to learn more……go to this web address ( http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330006178767 )
    just copy and paste it in……….you won’t regret this…it will change your life forever.
    Thanks Heather
    P.S. If you see me at the web site in only my bra and panties….it was a dare by a millionaire friend….so to prove my point I almost bared it all.
    But this was done for advertising only……..but the Millionaire Maker….is for real.And baby it’s AWESOME

  13. Bob Says:

    Hi, sorry to hear that you missed out on potentially making milions of dollars in profit but even the smaller profit you made certainly can’t be grumbled at since you never really invested any of your own money to get it in the first place. I still say well done.

  14. vinylart Says:

    Yeah, like Brian said, great story. I love going on the journey.

    Peace.


Leave a Reply

