How Superstars Are Made Today (Or Why Mike Skinner Is Cool)

So A VC made the song Never Went To Church his MP3 of the week. That's a good song though I like  When You Wasn't Famous from the same lp (which will be released Friday (I think).

Here's the link to Fred's pick. And below is the video to mine. No matter which song you like, Mike Skinner (aka The Streets) is the real deal. If you never heard of him you are definitely missing out.

Explore posts in the same categories: Army Of One, blogs, Fred Wilson, hype, music, new media, video, YouTube

13 Comments on “How Superstars Are Made Today (Or Why Mike Skinner Is Cool)”

  1. Robert Bruce Says:

    You. Are. Right. About. Skinner.

    …driving I-5 south taking the Broadway exit, rolling into downtown when I first heard him.

    That stop sign at the bottom of Broadway is now burned into my brain. Love it when that happens, doesn’t happen enough.

  2. meettravis Says:

    UK hiphop is cool. they are really in an unique place. if your interested this is a nice article about it.
    http://arts.guardian.co.uk/fridayreview/story/0,12102,1429414,00.html


  3. Sorry, but this made me rush back to my trusty old Pavement CDs. I can’t understand him. I understand Mark E. Smith of The Fall, but I can’t understand this blimey bloke.

    I’ll have to see if my UK blogocombat buddy Tinbasher can understand this.

    Plus, I don’t care for any hip hop at all. I’m a techno, ragga junglist, speedcore, punk, folk, industrial, and noise band devotee. From Dylan to Controlled Bleeding and Caroliner to Mouse on Mars. But not hip hop.

    That’s just me, though. Youngsters seem to slabber this type of thing.

  4. fred Says:

    his song, “the irony of it all” on the Original Pirate Material is great social commentary

    the entire “Grand Don’t Come For Free” is a great story that unfolds as you listen to the record.

    he is the real deal, although i don’t love his new record as much (yet?) as the first two

  5. chartreuse Says:

    I like all his stuff. His first album was the best but they usually always are.

    Vaspers, The Fall is a joke and not a real funny one. There are no more rockstars. They all are learning to rap.

    The debachery which made the sex pistols special doesn’t work in an era where kids pay $100.00 for a pair of jeans. No one wants to spill anything on an investment.πŸ™‚


  6. Er, Char, have you been to a Starbucks lately? Punk is not dead, nor is Grunge.

    I see lots of scraggly torn up garments on the youth, plus expensive sneakers.

    I did a study of free legal mp3 downloads on Amazon. Not scientific, but what I discovered is tons of LoFi, DIY, Pavement, Guided By Voices type material. I don’t know what this means, but I suspect that there is a strong movement toward the Brit Pop/Surreal Soft Boys, 6ths, Magnetic Fields type sound.

    Debating music is much less fun than listening to it.

    I just never could figure out rap or hip hop. Just sounds like lame boasting and gangster sadism to me.

    I liked Beastie Boys and LL Cool J for a few months, though.

    The Fall, Sex Pistols, PiL, Pavement, GBV, etc. are also against rock stars, as you know.

    Hey, my brother worked for WEA in Chicago in the 1980s. Jim Streight. He was a regionally famous DJ and got into promotion work for Warner Bros, partied with Madonnna, New Order, Prince, Depeche Mode, etc. He has a photo with him hanging on Madonna, with Jellybean Benitez and others.

    ;^)

  7. chartreuse Says:

    I miss the excess and debauchary of old school rockstardom. the trashing hotel rooms. The drugs and groupies have all gone. Now rockstardom is all about having anorexia.

    But obviously the new guys (and girls) can’t handle the excess. Whitney Houston is a wreck. But Billie Holiday never lost her voice (or looks). They obviously don’t build them like they used to.

    The biggest rock star in the world is out trying to save the world (not that there is anything wrong with that) while Keith Richards is still trying to save his own soul.

    That’s why the kids love rap. It’s all larger than life and dangerous. All the stuff your mom warned you against.

    And ask your brother if he has an original copy of the Prince Black Album (original not the one released years later). If so you gotta rip it for me. I lost mine.😦


  8. Look, The Streets are the acceptable face of chav-youth for 30-something retards who are scared of black folks like Dizzee Rascal.

    And now we have 30-something Yanks attempting to ‘get it’ as well.

    If you enjoy it please be reasonable and enjoy it in the comfort of your own car.

    Oh, just one more thing…..Mark E. Smith is the most idiosyncratic and prolific ‘rapper’ to come out of Blighty.

    http://www.freedonia.com/~jeff/fall/tns.html

  9. chartreuse Says:

    Paul,
    Some of my best friends are Black. Really.


  10. I think more wars ought to be fought, if they are to be fought at all, which they aren’t, over music and film.

    USA: “We like Jim Carey, not Angelina Jolie”

    FRANCE: “We like Jerry Lewis, not Jerry Lee Lewis”

    USA: “That’s it, we nuke you now”


  11. P.S. About Prince’s “Black Album”, I think my brother still has it, or can get it. I’ll ask him. I also like the Beatles “Black Album” a lot, maybe my favorite from that ancient band of bugs.


  12. […] Mike Skinner's album featuring the top 10 single "When You Wasn't Famous," debuted at No. 1 in the U.K. this week. […]

  13. thunder Says:

    I love this site. Good work…


Leave a Reply

