Killing The Killers (or Why I Hate The F*cking Music Business)

 

It's common knowledge that I'm a fan of The Killers.

So I went to YouTube to watch a Killer's video.

Well it seems Island records had YouTube remove all The Killers clips because they were unauthorized.

Bullshit.

Here's the deal with music videos.

 

They are given away.

The artists pays for them.

The cost is recoupable by the label. 

They are considered promotion for the record.

They are given away to anyone who asks (usually a broadcaster like MTV or some kid with a video show on a local cable channel.)

Now do I believe The Killers asked for their video to be removed from YouTube? Hell No!!

The video had 30000 views in 6 days.

It was copied zero times.

And you can't buy it anywhere.

If I want to watch the video I have to wait for the mutherfucker to show up on MTV or go to their website and have it streamed.

Are these people idiots?

If I can watch it for free on their website then why the fuck can't I watch it on YouTube?

This is why the record industry as we know it is dead.

Will someone please start that music magazine I talked about and do a story on the ineptitude of these idiots.

Note to Antonio "L.A." Reid (chairman of IDJ):

I will be downloading (for free) every Island Def Jam artist's record I can.

Sue me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Army Of One, chartreuse (beta), DEAD, music, old media, The Killers, YouTube

6 Comments on “Killing The Killers (or Why I Hate The F*cking Music Business)”

  1. Roy T. Says:

    Wow…thats the Char I remember.

  2. Dave Says:

    Bunch of Muppets, good you highlight this, I don’t think most people realise the artist actually pays for the video.

  3. chartreuse Says:

    For some reason this just really pissed me off.
    These guys are backwards.

  4. AListReview Says:

    Giving Up Free Marketing to Force Visits to Website?

    Chartreuse, whom I just discovered, but am in awe at his tastes in music, talks about pulling a band’s video from YouTube: The video had 30000 views in 6 days. It was copied zero times. And you can’t buy it…

  5. Liz Strauss Says:

    You really scored with this one. I can’t help but think what my mother would do. She’d put those guys in the back seat of our car and make they spell s-t-u-p-i-d-i-t-y—-s-t-u-p-i-d-i-t-y—-s-t-u-p-i-d-i-t-y. That way they’d at least be learning something.

    She never had me do it, but I heard my big brother spelling once . . . I think it had something to do with cockfighting and lighting matches. I was too young to know. 🙂

  6. david Says:

    Coming Soon: band refuses to release records in case someone accidentally hears it without paying for it.


Leave a Reply

