Education: What’s In It For You?(or your kid is dumber than my kid)

 

You may not have noticed it but every post today had to do with young people.

I thought I'ld end the day on the controversial but effective Fairhaven school.

Let's be real.

Our education system is in shambles.

Kids are learning how to past test instead of how to think.

Tea has changed more in the past 10 years than our schools have in the past 60.

Something needs to be done.

Since this site is also about innovative thinking I thought it would be appropriate to show you some education innovation. 

Take a look at the Fairhaven school.

Explore posts in the same categories: change, cool, education, important

5 Comments on “Education: What’s In It For You?(or your kid is dumber than my kid)”

  1. Chris P. Says:

    The girl who talks about the stream is totally the offspring of Tom Green and Drew Barrymore.

    I rest my case.

  2. Chris P. Says:

    Oh, but I have to note, I LOVE the philosophy that lies at the heart of this school’s operations. Knowledge that you acquire through personal ventures – you know, when you can embrace something as completely your OWN – is so much more valuable, actionable, and meaningful than that which is acquired through teachings.

    I really can’t say enough about this subject, much less do it justice here in the comments, but suffice it to say…When I think back about all of my time that was essentially wasted on bullshit that was dictated by the system, I feel as though I was robbed of some personal freedoms that every free MIND should have the right to explore.

    In fact, the handle that the system had over me also cost me two years after college, and although I think that sucks, I guess you could say that I’m one of the fortunate ones. What about these people who never jump outside the tracks that the system set them upon?

    K, great ideas. Now how do we make money off of them? 😛


  3. Let’s face it, the current system is made to dumb down the kids. Those that are creative, innovative and have endless curiosities get calmed down with some ritilan.

    Those who are contrarians and individualists, in the healthy sense of the word, are labelled as the troublemakers and problem kids.

    This along with a bunch of tenured union losers who don’t have to undergo the rigors of a competitive market, is a huge reason this situation exists.

  4. badborg Says:

    Go liberate the schooling

  5. chartreuse Says:

    The idea of letting children figure out there own path shouldn’t be so revolutionary.

    It should be a right.


Leave a Reply

