“It’s best not to be too moral. You cheat yourself out of too much life.” And Five Other Thoughts That Stuck With Me This Week

Don't you just love that quote from Harold and Maude? Great movie. Go put it on your Netflix queue. And while your waiting think a little about this stuff…

Josh Wolfe of Nanotech Insider

…Like a game of chess—it’s not enough to think a few moves ahead—you must think at least one move ahead of the number of moves your opponent thinks. Or as I’ve previously recounted more colloquially: two guys are in the woods when a bear comes running. One starts running, the others shouts, “it’s no good—you’ll never outrun a bear.” The running guy turns back and says, “I don’t have to. I only have to outrun you.”

Brand Noise:

iPod introduces the Nano in black. Marilyn Manson marries Dita Von Teese. The Notorious Bettie Page opens in theaters. Asian girls start dying their hair back to glossy black thanks to pop singer Hamasaki Ayumi who colored over her trademark bleached-blonde tresses in late 2005…I see a thread of beautifully black, goth things. I like the mystery of the theme. Now it’s gone beyond fashion and into more concrete places, like the home….And so it goes, one big macro trend fracturing into a multitude of micro-trends.

Umair of Bubble Generation: 

…So you should see by now that the argument that open source models "rely" on the intelligence of their participants is a neat sleight of hand (after all, everything does – from firms, to anthills). The genius of these models is that they tap the space where expertise and heterogeneous production preferences intersect – something that almost never happens in firms, despite big bonuses, nasty bosses, and the other nice things about the rat race.

I've italicized that because I really do think it's absolutely revolutionary from an economic point of view.

Candice of Candice Flavored Nonsense

…At least they're working on it, unlike the trailers at UNO which were meant for students, and have been sitting in parking lots since January with no electricity, plumbing, or stairs. At the beginning of the semester we joked that they would still be empty in May. May starts next Monday.

David of Jack Of All Blogs 

Federated Media is the web’s first niche advertising agency. It’s not a blog network folks. Everyone who thinks they are a blog network is foolish. FM is truly the web’s first powerhouse advertising agency who’s sole focus is social media…

Explore posts in the same categories: blog networks, brandnois, candice, David Krug, good line, harold and maude, nanotech

6 Comments on ““It’s best not to be too moral. You cheat yourself out of too much life.” And Five Other Thoughts That Stuck With Me This Week”

  1. terryC Says:

    LOVE Harold and Maude! Haven’t seen it in years but I should rent it.
    And the thoughts are interesting. I always thought David was full of hot air.

  2. VampireFeet Says:

    Josh writes some of the most entertaining stuff around. He knows his stuff and mixes it with pop cultural references. Sort of like…you!

    I also liked the Umair comment. It took a few minutes for it to sink into my head but once it did it all made sense.

    And poor Candice, or should I say poor New Orleans?

  3. David Krug Says:

    Thanks for the kind words Char.πŸ™‚ I did this post on 1 hour of sleep. Imagine if I could actually get something done.

  4. chartreuse Says:

    np David. I credit anyone who makes me think.

    And Terry, H&M is one of my favorite movies of alltime. It’s the Fight Club I can watch with chicks…

    And Vamp, Josh is wwaayy cool. Subscribe. And Umair is a genius except when he’s showing off!πŸ™‚

  5. candice Says:

    VampireFeet: poor New Orleans. I’m not that broken, though fema is doing its fair share of screwing me over as it does everyone else. πŸ˜‰


  6. Dave

    Interesting topic… I’m working in this industry myself and I don’t agree about this in 100%, but I added your page to my bookmarks and hope to see more interesting articles in the future


Leave a Reply

