The Angelina Jolie Guide To Running The Modern News Organization (Or Everything That’s Wrong With World News Tonight)

 

Putting shows on the internet won't save typical broadcast TV.

Here's why.

Broadcast television (btv) has a history of being long and wide.

The problem is, everyone only wants short and deep.

Because broadcast tv is used to serving a lot of people who like a variety of things, they have developed a system which works for that. They skim of surface of everything that they can in the hopes that you will eventually find something that you like.

Take for example Angelina Jolie.

Now most folks don't really care too much about Angelina.

Her story is just a sideshow.

But not to me.

I'm an Angelina fan.

I want to know details.

I was so frustrated by the long and wide coverage by the media that I started a blog dedicated to nothing but news about Angelina.

I spend a half hour each day posting all the stories I like about Jolie, Brad and Maddox. Thousands visit the site everyday because they are like me: They want deep.

Look at the successful shows on TV.

Lost, 24, American Idol.

Notice anything about those those shows?

They are all deep.

You can watch the show on bTV but to really get the show, if you are a true fan, there are various ways to be involved (go deep) either online, on your mobile or whatever. The story is everywhere.

True fans love that stuff.

True fans want to be immersed.

They want the option of going deep.

It's the same with news.

I'm disgusted with regular news coverage of the after effects of Hurricane Katrina and what's going on in New Orleans. I have to visit several sites a day just to get the deep coverage I want of the story.

Now if a news organization really wanted to grab me, they would provide deep coverage of the stories I care about.

Unfortunately that's impossible for broadcast tv.

Nobody is doing it but it can be done online.

Keep the wide and long coverage but give us a short and deep option. I'm into New Orleans so give me the option of seeing everything you got on the subject.

Oh, and it needs to be unfiltered.

You interviewed the mayor. I don't want the clip you thought was important. That's for the long and wide folks.

Let me see the tape from "Hello Mr. Mayor" to "cut".

Give me the chance to see everything you have.

I'll decide what's important.

That's the future of news.

It's not citizen's reporting, blogs, and all that stuff. That's just a small part of it.

News organizations of the future (now!) should gather the information, and then let us see as little or as much as we want.

Even if it's just pictures of Angelina Jolie.

Explore posts in the same categories: angelina jolie, Army Of One, authenticity, big business, blogs, change, CNN, content, cool, DEAD, fans, flickr, gossip, Hollywood, information, internet, internet media networks, mobile, money, music, new media, New Orleans, news, niches, old media, personal, sexy, technology, trends

15 Comments on “The Angelina Jolie Guide To Running The Modern News Organization (Or Everything That’s Wrong With World News Tonight)”

  1. Loren Says:

    The TV model is dead for most youth. Networks need to program for “older” people. 40 and over. Period. That will save them. Murder She Wrote, 60 Minutes, show geared for an older audience is the only chance they have.

  2. terryC Says:

    Skewing older is not the answer. The answer is embracing new technologies. I am a news junky and watch the news all the time. I would love to be able to pick what I want to the reporters to focus on.
    But what does that have to do with Angelina Jolie?


  3. Good post. I believe in deep. DEEEEP.

  4. chartreuse Says:

    I don’t think tv is dead for youth.
    It just plays a smaller role. And yeah, deep is important for everything..

  5. Loren Says:

    Youth see a computer and equate fun. TV they see boredom.

    Elders see a computer and equate work. TV they see relaxation.

    It’s a sociological thing. Only thing that will change that is big flat screens on the wall with instant on, a real simple interface.

    And a remote.

  6. Martin Says:

    Ahh, your posting nirvana: new media and Angelina. Together at last on this blog🙂

    And here I thought I was the only one completely fascinated / besotted / entranced with Ms Pitt. Welcome to the club.

  7. candice Says:

    Tangent!

    I’m waiting for the day I run into Anderson Cooper in a gay bar.

    Nothing to see here, move along.

  8. chartreuse Says:

    Candice,
    What are you doing in gay bars?!?🙂

  9. gapp Says:

    She is pretty sexy. nice post🙂

  10. candice Says:

    Chartreuse: my best friend here is gay, he and I have a deal, he pretends to be my boyfriend in normal bars, and I put up with techno and occasionally dancing. We spent a lot of last summer in one of the bars I got told later Cooper hangs out in.

  11. chartreuse Says:

    Candice,
    I have spent a lot of time in gays bars. Generally, the music is much better than at straight clubs. And no one is worried about looking foolish dancing.


  12. […] YouTube is exploding. Bloggers are using it share content like never before. Video is the final frontier until they develop holograms. Video is great to mix into posts. AOL just released their version and it looks pretty good. Things are going to get very interesting fast. This video segment is going to very important to advertisers. Very important. It also means you don’t really need a website either. More on that soon. […]

  13. farlane Says:

    Great post. Deep rulez. Angelina Jolie is not too bad either.


  14. I agree with the deep thing.

    A little-known secret among successful marketers in general is that when people trust and like you and what you have to offer, they want all of what you got.

    In the entertainment world the same applies. Once people become true fans, they want to know everything as deep and wide as they can about their hero.

  15. Jox Says:

    The intersection of youth and tv: download the tv show and watch it on your computer. Look at the thousands of people (100K+) downloading Lost after an ep airs. The intersection of Elder and computers: download the tv show, then format it on a disc to watch on a tv!🙂


Leave a Reply

