Letter From Reader: Forget Paris (Or The Art Of The Screwup)

Char,

I love your blog but I do you mind if I give you some constructive criticism?

Some days you write posts that are truly inspiring. They completely change the way I look at things. I appreciate it. But sometimes what you post is absolute crap. Ice Cube? Paris Hilton? Angelina Jolie For President?


Your blog could be one of the most popular on the net if you consider things like spellcheck and maybe running things by an editor. It hard for me to tell people what the blog is about because it's about everything.

Maybe a little quality control?

Love ya bro,

XXXXX

XXXXX,

I love hearing from the readers of this blog. Your views are more than important. They are the reason I write this blog.

But fuck quality control.

Screwups Rock.

Do you know what the mistake has given us?

Lightbulbs.

Rubber.

Cellphones only kids can hear.

We live in an age where everything is a commodity.

Value can only be found in ideas and execution.

We have the unique opportunity to live in an age where you can fail

fast.

But you have to be brave enough to screw up.

It's why standardized testing is such a crock.

You end up with people who only know the answers.

But are completely lost when the questions change.

And change is the only thing that's permanent.

This blog is an experiment where I feel free to try anything.

It's a rollercoaster where we mix all aspects of new media and see what we come up with.

And sometimes, that ends up being Paris Hilton.

But you do make a valid point about spellcheck.

Explore posts in the same categories: blogging, chartreuse (beta), rebuttal, smart

21 Comments on “Letter From Reader: Forget Paris (Or The Art Of The Screwup)”


  1. I have to say this is one of my fave entries on this blog so far =)

  2. Loren Says:

    Would Tyler Durden spellcheck? I theenk not! Speel check is for puzzies.

  3. chartreuse Says:

    thanks dear.
    say hello to moms.🙂

  4. Fraser Says:

    Experiment. Screw up. Make mistakes. So long as you learn.

    But spellcheck would be nice.

  5. Fraser Says:

    I want a pseudonym like some others!

  6. chartreuse Says:

    Here are the rules Fraser, once i give you a nickname you are stuck with it.
    No crying.
    No switching with Beyonce or Flava Flav.
    You just have to wear it until this blog fades…
    Got it?🙂

  7. Fraser Says:

    Well, actually maybe it’s best if it just sort of happens. You know? Like an unforced event that just… happens.

    I’m worried that when the nickname is forced I’ll end up with Panty or some shit like that.

  8. chartreuse Says:

    When it’s time, you’ll get one…I’m still trying to come up with one for Loren…but don’t worry, it’s coming…( and it won’t be anything too stupid, you’re a rockstar!)

  9. Loren Says:

    Thanks bro, It better be good. I’m not kidding.

  10. Brian Says:

    You go Char… it’s the randomness that prompts me to email you asking why a post isn’t up yet.🙂

    And I don’t even want to hear my nickname.

  11. AListReview Says:

    News Floozy: Congressional Subpoenas, Bravely Screw Up, Bloody Frist Love, Vista Delays

    I hate it when I start Omea and find 500 posts for me to read for AListReview.  I usually scan through and flag the posts I want to read further before I start blogging, but today these caught my eye…


  12. I love the fact you weave smart thinking about marketing with references to ?uestlove, dre etc.
    Its all about culture.

  13. chartreuse Says:

    Right!

    Culture moves everything!


  14. spelling is way overrated

  15. VampireFeet Says:

    Dude, posting pictures of Paris Hilton is never the wrong thing to do.🙂

  16. Michael Doig Says:

    You write like I think. All over the place. Tossing in bits of pop culture with business insights. Your blog is entertaining and informative, plus your site is the only one where I read about celebrity news. Keep it up.


  17. WordPress needs builtin spellcheck. otherwise spellchecking is a moot point, inspiration cannot be held back by constraints such as “grammar” or “spelling.” plus, this blog is about changing culture, or how culture is changing, part of that would be the language.🙂

  18. Liz Strauss Says:

    Don’t bite my finger. Look where I’m pointing!


  19. […] 4) Don’t be afraid to make mistakes! They are your best opportunities for learning. However, ensure that you do learn from them, as people have little patience for those that repeat their mistakes. […]

  20. ann michael Says:

    “It’s why standardized testing is such a crock.

    You end up with people who only know the answers.

    But are completely lost when the questions change.”

    All I can say is WOW! That is the point, isn’t it. The questions keep changing and most people haven’t been prepared to deal with it.


  21. […] Don’t be afraid to make mistakes! They are your best opportunities for learning. However, ensure that you do learn from them, as people have little patience for those that repeat […]


Leave a Reply

