BlogTipping Day (or my chance to insult your blog)

 

So here's the game.

I list 3 blogs I like. I tell you 3 reasons I like them. And one thing I think is wrong with it (a tip).

Here we go.

It's no secret that I love The Blogging Times.

  1. It has a new large picture everyday
  2. It includes everything about blogging in a clean and simple layout
  3. the posts are short

The tip: I still can't find the links unless I move my mouse over stuff. It hurts the usability of a very cool site.(am I the only one bothered by this?)

Next to feel my love is Sippin Whiskey's Distillery 

  1. Covers a topic that needs new voices
  2. Every post has a picture
  3. Post are written with a sense of humor

The tip: You don't post regularly enough and you really fucked up on the Sandi Thom story. You need to read this blog.

The last site of the day is ProHipHop. There are a lot of reasons I like this site.  

  1. Very good, professional coverage of an important market.
  2. Always updated and always cool pictures or videos.
  3. A voice of sanity in a market that could use it.

The Tip: Your site looks horrible. I don't have a nice design but I don't have ads. Step it up a notch.

O.K., I now have 3 less potential friends.

Big Ups to Liz and Tim for making this possible!

(for more info on the art of blogtipping visit here)

Explore posts in the same categories: blogtipping, how to lose friends, Liz Strauss, personal, Tim Stay

20 Comments on “BlogTipping Day (or my chance to insult your blog)”

  1. Liz Strauss Says:

    That’s what I love about you always. You cut right through to what things are about.🙂

  2. chartreuse Says:

    Thanks Liz.

    It’s a gift🙂

  3. rafi Says:

    Ooh, I want to get blogtipped (pause).

    Added notes on yours:

    ProHipHop is ugly as sin, the color scheme is reminiscent of a bloody turd. I’ll add my own though.. Clyde takes everything at face value (like when he wondered why Gnarls Barkley were posing with guns on their promo material, missing the pulp fiction reference entirely) but I can’t knock him for his earnestness. If only Diogenes could come back and find Clyde!

    The content is surprisingly good (it took me a long time to ever give it a 2nd look because of the appearance) and the discussions in the comments are too.

    The Blogging Times main offense in my opinion is having a sticky post that I have to scroll down past to read the post that I actually clicked on from their feed. I can’t stand that – it’s turning me off from visiting.

  4. Tim Stay Says:

    Like I said before, I just hang around hoping some of the “hipness” will rub off on me!

  5. SippinWhisky Says:

    Thanks, chartreuse. Yea, I had hoped no one caught the Sandi Thom screw-up. (Darn! Foiled again!)

    And, I’ll see what can be done about the posting…ahem, irregularities. (Makes it sound downright illegal, doesn’t it?) But so much for saying I should read your blog, eh?🙂

    Again, thanks. ~SippinWhisky

  6. Clyde Smith Says:

    Since I’ve been critiquing both chartreuse and Rafi Kam, I guess I can accept your critiques. Unfortunately I probably won’t accept them as gracefully as you two.

    chartreuse (BETA) [what’s up with the silly name?] dissin’ a web publisher for having ads? Hey, I do what I gots to do to get by. If you knew my financial situation, you might back up on that one. I don’t have the resources, time or consulting gigs to focus on “influence” and that blog wouldn’t exist without the ads. In fact, if something doesn’t give by the end of the summer, it’s over.

    Of course, people read it despite the ads and it was so interesting to watch various hip hop bloggers suddenly all posting about hip hop marketing after I launched. I play horse on the mic and watch them all copy (Can Ox).

    Rafi – The color scheme, turd or chocolate? Ask anybody who lives in a chocolate city what they think about that, oh my dark skinned brother. Next time I’ll be sure to make it whiter than white or blacker than black, you know, inhuman colors.

    I looked at the Gnarls Barkley picture and said that it was some form of parody and that I reacted to it as a gun being pointed at me, which was true and what I saw. Knowing that they were relating it to Pulp Fiction doesn’t change those points, it only adds to them. One of the big problems I have with hip hop is that people are always trying to explain away what actually exists with background and context as if that did away with the obvious. It’s apologetics passing for deep critique.

    But at least I’m not the one photo shopping fake noses on 50 Cent to suck up to Seth Godin.

    Peace, y’all.

  7. Minic Rivera Says:

    Thank you for the blogtip. I have been wanting to do that minor change (I say minor, but my lack of knowledge makes it major for me). So, right after I read this blogtip… I placed this… http://newyork.craigslist.org/mnh/cpg/167095066.html

  8. Liz Strauss Says:

    Minic,
    You are an all-around class act!

  9. Brian Says:

    Clyde, you’ve got a lot to learn.

  10. Clyde Smith Says:

    Brian, don’t we all. Do you have something more specific to share, oh my new teacher?

  11. Clyde Smith Says:

    You know what? I should apologize. I just found out I have hypertension and I have no insurance and no cash for medical care. It’s kind of put me on edge.

    Please forgive me.


  12. this is going well

  13. rafi Says:

    Relax Clyde… the Gnarls Barkley was just an example of something you’re always doing, the same way you could have mentioned that I’m always being a ‘Stan’ to Godin.

    It’s cool, some people are literalists. But watch out, that can cause hypertension.

    As for the not-so subliminal about hip-hop bloggers following your lead in writing about marketing, that’s been an oh word blog topic literally from day one.

    Lol at defending your ugly ass color scheme by bringing up skin color. It’s a website and people of all races will agree that it’s ugly. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go check out some pasty grafted flesh-toned websites. Naturally I much prefer Yakub-ian Yellow or Imperial White.

  14. chartreuse Says:

    Clyde,
    I was not critisizing the fact you have ads on your site. I was critisizing the design. If you are going to have ads then I think you raise the standards that are expected of your site.

    And I did say some nice things because I like your site. Really.

    Email me if you want some advice on monitizing your site.

    Again, big thanks to Liz and Tim! Jeez…

  15. Clyde Smith Says:

    Sorry guys. Nobody has ever said anything negative about the ads or the designs until the ads came up earlier this spring. At that time I made the choice that people seemed to want even though I wasn’t happy about it at first.

    And, actually, some people have said nice things about the design so I was surprised to suddenly hear that, especially since I like it just fine.

    The ad thing is a bit hard to take right now for a variety of reasons that I guess shouldn’t concern you guys but whatever. It’s a button pusher for me so I overreacted to chartreuse who was being quite nice overall.

    I guess I was just blindsided by the one two punch of being told to step my game up and being told my blog was ugly when I was emotionally vulnerable in a space where I didn’t expect that to occur. But that’s life.

    Rafi, I’m sure you guys were talking about marketing, etc. and probably changing my focus caused me to notice that more clearly as a specific theme. Normally I would have looked back through your archives to decide if my off the cuff perception was accurate.

    On the other issues, we’ll speak again away from this blog at another time.

    chartreuse, thanks for the offer and I’ll be in touch. I appreciate your response.

  16. Brian Says:

    Ahh, much better Clyde. And don’t think I’m being patronizing… you reminded me of my own (hopefully former) bad habit of blazing into a comment section and reacting instead of taking a deep breath first.

    Best of luck with what ever you’ve got going on in the trouble department. It’ll pass (it always does).


  17. […] Ask Clyde, one of the readers of this blog and the owner of the site ProHipHop. […]


  18. […] The Distillery humbly thanks WordPress blog chartreuse (Beta) for noticing its meager efforts on this month’s Blogtipping Day. Both praises and suggestions are duly noted. In return, it is an immense pleasure to add you to The Distillery’s blogroll. Instead of one “less potential friend,” you have one more definite friend. Please let me know if ever I can do you a favor. Again, thank you. […]


  19. Great job chartreuse, and good blogtipping etiquette, all. I appreciate finding these three new blogs and learning about what they do well and might be able to do better.

  20. liliann Says:

    Blogtipping etiquette is something I have never heard about…very interesting…might take that into consideration…


Leave a Reply

