The Captain Crunch Guide To Internet Success (Or What Steve Rubel Forgot to Add Or The Importance Of Bricks)

Captain Crunch Michael Arrington's TechCrunch empire turned one last week.

It still sucks. But that really doesn't matter.


In case you don't know, TechCrunch is a site which reviews new Web 2.0 offerings. Like all things geeky, the web has embraced the site making it one of the most popular in the blogosphere.
Let's forget about the fact that the one doing the reviewing thought Edgeio was a good idea.

Let's forget about the fact that Mike's reviews are sometimes wrong.

Let's look at something else.

Let's examine how you can build a site just as influential.

I read Steve Rubel's advice on creating another Techcrunch:

a) identify a high interest topic online that currently does not have a blog tracking it, b) write about it very actively and do it well and c) don't be afraid to promote it.

True but kind of weak.

TechCrunch's success has nothing to do with Captain Crunch Arrington. It has everything to do with tech people.

If you are writing exclusively about my industry, I will probably read it.

If you are writing about me, I will definitely read it.

I don't care how horrible your writing is, or how wrong headed your opinions are, you can get people reading your stuff if you are writing about them.

If you want to build the next TechCrunch of your industry, here is what you really need to do.

Pick a topic (It does not matter how crowded the market is)

Let's use as an example something as mundane as Brick Manufacturing.
Set yourself a few alerts for news about every brick manufacture.

Grab every PR release.

And start blogging.(write about it actively and do it well (they won't really care)

But here's the key.

You're not writing about bricks.

You are hardly writing about the brick industry.

You write about the people.

The presidents and vice presidents. The sales people. The drivers.

Make them stars.

The problems and controversies in brick.

Make it important.


Promote the hell out of it to brick people. They are not hiding.

In 90 days you will probably be one of the most influential people in the United States brick industry. Really.

And then you can put out a Japanese version.

Explore posts in the same categories: blog networks, blogging, bricks, Edgeio, influence, Mike Arrington, People, Steve Rubel, techcrunch, technology

22 Comments on “The Captain Crunch Guide To Internet Success (Or What Steve Rubel Forgot to Add Or The Importance Of Bricks)”

  1. Brian Says:

    Heh, good post. Run it through a spell checker and it might be great.🙂

  2. Jennifer J. Says:

    I love Capatain Crunch

  3. chartreuse Says:

    Jennifer, I’m more of a Corn Flakes and sugar guy.

    Brian, don’t you have traffic to count?🙂

  4. chartreuse Says:

    And mis spelling words is part of my brand!

  5. TerryC Says:

    I agree with almost everything in this post though you didn’t justify your attack on TechCrunch.


  6. Or it is getting old because web 2.0 is getting old fast and I am in that space.

    Anyways, what is great is the lesson about blogging.

    We have not done that well at GOLFNOW which is easy pickings. We will, but we have revenue to focus on. The eyeball hotness has peaked for now.

    Attention is what matters and who, not how many

  7. TerryC Says:

    Thanks for the information Adam. I didn’t know that.

  8. Liz Strauss Says:

    Thank you for saying every word of that. It’s always been about the people. No matter what job anyone is in. That’s what brings the customers in the door, that’s what’s keeps there and smiling, that’s what makes them want to come back again.

    You said it so many times before, hardly anyone knows we exist. Why wouldn’t we care about someone who took the time to write about us? to bother to see just what we’re doing? to take a look at what we’re working on? Heck, half the time our own families don’t.

    You do that for me and it’s worth a whole helluva lot more than good writin’.

  9. range Says:

    Good post, I get hatemail because I didn’t use apostrophes or capitals in my earlier posts. I do now.

  10. annmichael Says:

    That was awesome. You are dead on. That’s why gossip spreads – people like to hear about people and they LOVE to hear about themselves. Let most interviewers talk during the entire interview and they’ll think YOU’RE brilliant! It’s amazing.

    BTW – I like your typos – and IF you care – it’s cap’n crunch – he never really had a maritime designation although we love him anyway.

  11. chartreuse Says:

    I don’t eat it. That’s the excuse I’m sticking, too!🙂

  12. Brian Says:

    Ha, I love it Ann… you say you like his typos, and then correct him.

    I totally feel the same way… I love the way he is, but can’t help but try to mold him into something else!

    Luckily, he expertly ignores me.🙂

  13. chartreuse Says:

    Am I being talked about in my own room? I feel like I’m 12!

    And did you notice the errors in my comment? I really need an editor. Maybe I’ll find someone on elance. Some of this stuff is embarressing…

  14. annmichael Says:

    It’s part of his charm – and “coolness” – and yes – we’re talking about you!

  15. David Krug Says:

    You know the people you really want to talk about Google, Microshaft, and the PR people. See PR people have all this free time. In 6 months i will be the Steve Rubel replacement doll.

  16. chartreuse Says:

    David, didn’t I let you run your own little post yesterday?(thanks for driving all the page views, unfortunately I don’t have ads!) WTF are you still here for?🙂

    I think you can do this with any topic. The free time they have isn’t really that important. They’ll find the time.

  17. range Says:

    Yeah, Char, about the errors in your comment, I didn’t realize they were there until I quoted you. I think they are mostly typos though🙂

  18. David Krug Says:

    God don’t i love you too Prince. hahahahaha

  19. Eric Says:

    Prince, nice work on this one. Just a few short months ago his price was 7500 a month for adspace – now its 10,000. I may take the brick idea btw😉 (seriously, im joking)


  20. […] Chartreuse says to dominate the industry with a blog you should write about the people. […]

  21. Yuecvwyh Says:

    Most Interested facts about that you can read here:,


Leave a Reply

