An Open Letter To Vaspers The Grate (or Look Ma! No Pictures! No Links!)

Vaspers,

No one loves you more than me.

The fact you disagree with my breathing lately doesn’t bother me. It’s the price I pay for almost always being right.

Let me eexxppaanndd on your problem with my last post.

Grab your notebook and take notes: I’m gonna be mega serious and give you what you paid for.

Successful Examples Of Treating The Trivial As If It Was Important:

Entertainment Tonight

Court TV

True Hollywood Stories

This Old House

the list goes on and on….

Treating the trivial with the same respect you treat things that are really important is just another way of focusing on niches.

Everything is trivial to most people.

We are living in an age where fewer and fewer folks watch the news. Fewer and fewer can find Afghanistan on a map and EBay (the king of personal trivia) has a market cap greater than GM.

So if you are going to build a website on say…sofas. You better treat sofas like it’s the most important thing in the world instead of just a place for drunk friends to crash if you want people to give a fuck about it.

FLIPMODE

Examples Of Treating The Important Like It’s Trivial

The Daily Show

Bill Mahr

The Chappelle Show (really)

and the list goes on…

The opposite goes for the real important stuff. If you want people to care your important stuff, you better make it entertaining. And you better trivialize it.

Because we all know what the important things are and though we may want to turn on CNN to learn about the latest Bin Laden video clip, we are not a culture who has the stomach to be preached to everyday. So if you want me to care turn your preaching into jokes and turn your sanctimonious thoughts into funny kinda offensive skits.

Then I’ll care.

o.k.

Hope you took notes.

Cuz life’s the quiz.

See you in the comments.

-chartreuse

Explore posts in the same categories: Bill Mahr, Bin Laden, CNN, court tv, Dave Chappelle, Ebay, entertainment tonight, Flipmode, GM, The Daily Show, This Old House, trivial, True Hollywood Story, vaspers

12 Comments on “An Open Letter To Vaspers The Grate (or Look Ma! No Pictures! No Links!)”

  1. Brian Says:

    Who didn’t get all this fom the last post? Besides Vaspars, I mean.

    I’d stick with the pics and links if I were you.

  2. Brian Says:

    And in Vaspers defense, this is all stuff the main stream media figured out long ago. Are you saying that we have no chance to do anything better?

  3. range Says:

    Jolie? Where is she?🙂

  4. Mark Says:

    “…So if you are going to build a website on say…sofas. You better treat sofas like it’s the most important thing in the world instead of just a place for drunk friends to crash…”

    I thought the traditional model of advertising was dead in your eyes?

  5. chartreuse Says:

    brian,
    rumour has it this is my blog. if i want to do a post on the joys of cream cheese i think i can. in fact, i think next week i’m going to do a reposting of my favorite copyblogger posts. If i can find one🙂

    range,
    I ask that question to myself everyday!

    Mark,
    You’re just trying to be difficult, right!

  6. Brian Says:

    Fair enough.🙂

  7. Clyde Smith Says:

    I appreciate your spelling things out periodically and I’ll do my best now to encourage that!


  8. I’m easily influenced. You have convinced me of your position, which I knew was more fleshed out in your own mind. Plus, I’m a remedial reader with multiple personality defects and a raging hatred of conformity and mediocrity.

    So thanks for stooping so low as to lend me a helping hand. Now I understand. And agree complicitly, whatever that means. I need to read more Derrida and Proust, that’s my problem, too much rum and ragga junglist vibes.

    My friend Bennett often tells me, “You act like whatever you’re currently into is The Most Important Thing on Earth (blogs, vlogs, podcasts, computer music, Ken Lay’s death, Net Neutrality, pizza spins with horseradish, male lesbianism, etc.)

    Chart, your attitude as a blogger is unequaled. You truly do wear asbestos blogger pajamas.


  9. When anyone is so bored they want to die, you may let me bore you to death with my new Purple Podcast Plasma Spooks offerings on my site. “Hair From Hell” actually scared one reader/listener, a friendly flamer named canopenner.

  10. Kristine Says:

    Just cruised beyond this spot for a few moments. Hmmm. The only good thing I have going for me is my voice. Oh, and my insanity. So how does a person get an audio thingy going when they’re as inept at PC’s as I am?

  11. chartreuse Says:

    email me kristine


  12. Audio Blogging Rules, along with Vlogging


Leave a Reply

