Welcoming New Bloggers Or The Art Of The Tease


So one of the best ideas I’ve heard in a long time is something called The Blog Surprise Game.

Here’s how it works:


Go to Google’s Blogsearch and type in “first post“. It will list people who just posted their first blog post. And you get a chance to give them their first comment welcoming them to the blogosphere.

How cool is that!

Oh, and speaking of new stuff, check out what David Krug is up to.

[YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhWpLb3QMxA]

Explore posts in the same categories: blog, blog networks, bloggers, blogging, Good Deeds

18 Comments on “Welcoming New Bloggers Or The Art Of The Tease”

  1. Pop Crunch Says:

    […] Good times. Hey isn’t that Brigitte? David Hasselhoff was “sick,” not drunk? PopCrunch The Show Teaser…… PopCrunch The Show Teaser…… Written by david on July 27th,2006 […]


  2. i hate not having the great ideas although it is one of the reasons i am very generous with comments in general

    When I did stand-up, people awere ruthless and blogging is no less scary when you dont have a voice.

    nice post

    at the same time lets do the opposite to for anyone listed in site security.

    BRIAN – get ready to be UNDUGG🙂

  3. Adam Elend Says:

    I wish there was a way to play the same game for bloggers with three month fatigue. You know, you’re into it… it’s fun… but then you start to feel obligated… or inadequate… or irrelevant.

    Char won’t know what I’m talking about b/c he was instantly famous. But the rest of you probably will. I read a post today that said a third of bloggers quit after three months.

    We need to give those folks a pat on the back.

    Here’s that post I read, btw: http://www.mpdailyfix.com/2006/06/w_why_blog_post_frequency_does.html

  4. range Says:

    I guess you like lipstick.com as well, the reddit for celebrity news. A new vlog? Ok!

    I like the blog surprise game, that is cool.


  5. That is such a wonderful idea to go and say hi to new bloggers. Getting an actual comment on your first post would be exciting! I got a trackback on my first post from none other than myself. LOL

    To be honest I like seeing blogs about people i do not know writing, vlogging etc about their life or something they are passionate about. The celebrity thing is beginning to be very overdone on blogs. One can only look at who got pregnant and had babies in 2006 for so long before hollywood in general becomes stale.

    I also like conversation blogs (like this one) because the user is more inclined to discuss and learn rather than just look, read, leave.

  6. David Krug Says:

    Jessica,
    I agree but if you can think of a celebrity video blog, or a decent indie iv show that does celebrity coverage and isnt’ making money let me know. It’s a big money big search very popular among the youngsters.

    Thus the reason for oversaturation.


  7. Kruger – not a bad idea

    A little calacanis in you riding off the crunch buzz?

    Looking forward to seeing this. keep me on the list for when you go live


  8. David – if i come across one I’ll let you know🙂

  9. chartreuse Says:

    range: We talked about lipstick.com a month ago ( https://chartreuse.wordpress.com/2006/06/20/lipstick-itunes-and-the-nba-the-tuesday-morning-sports-edition-remix/ )

    I don’t know what to do about 3 month fatigue. When you figure it out let me know…I haven’t fixed my blogroll in months. We all get lazy…

  10. Ankit Says:

    Graet idea by blog-outer court. One of the major reason blogging catches on, is the sense of participation, and having your voice heard. For a new blogger, few links gets him/her both of these.

    Wonderful idea…


  11. […] More on the blog surprise game at Chartreuse. […]

  12. AListReview Says:

    Google Blogoscoped: Blog Surprise Day

    Philipp Lenssen at Google Blogoscoped has come up with a nice idea – go somewhere like Google and search for "first post" to find new bloggers.  Then, leave them a comment.  They’ll be so surprised, they won’t know what to…

  13. range Says:

    Char: yeah, I know, I read about it here!


  14. Nice idea. My own version of this concept is to regularly scan Technorati for new blogs in my niche and to try to befriend those bloggers. It’s a little overwhelming to dip one’s toes in such volatile water, and any helping hands held out are usually grabbed quite quickly.

  15. chartreuse Says:

    Easton, you and Liz are the ‘ambassadors’ of blogging in my eyes!


  16. […] Pre-San Fran, Char deals the cards on how to spread the love like its 1966… […]

  17. Liz Strauss Says:

    Hey, Thanks Char. I like finding new blogs that are really great and getting them lauched into the blogosphere. Then I get to be their biggest fans.🙂


  18. Thanks for the compliment, Char – I’ll take it as a challenge to improve as well.

    By the way, I’m going to post today at KnowMoreMedia.com about your continuing efforts to find out what’s really going on in Katrina’s wake.


Leave a Reply

