Fridays, Hats And Cigarettes (Or How To Profit From The Newport Economy)

There’s a guy named Alberto who sits on a milk crate next to a large electrical box outside my building. On the electrical box sits an opened pack of Newport cigarettes.

He sells the cigarettes for a quarter each to people as they go by.

Today I chatted with him and got some of the ins and outs of the Newport economy.


“I don’t worry about a license or shit like that. If a cop comes by and looks at me funny I just put the pack of cigarettes in my pocket. I have all different kinds but I only put one pack out. I was selling water, too but the cops made me move my ice chest.”

In the old days this guy would be just another street hustler. But today, we are all street hustlers.

Blame it on Ebay.

Everyone is business for themselves.

Everyone’s an entrepreneur.

Garage Sales, Ebay, Lulu, Cafepress, GoogleAds.

Want to make some money but don’t know what to do?

Help me.

Help me to make money by helping me with my administration, my production, my advertising, my insurance, my travel, my networking, my selling, my tech needs, etc.

Don’t ask me to consume; help me to create.

It was very hot outside as I learned about who buys what brands, what times are the best to sell single cigarettes, and even what days.

Fridays are good. People are always stressed on Fridays.

The conversation drew to an end and I had to leave.

Alberto started complaining about what everyone complains about these days.

The heat.

So I sold him my hat.

Explore posts in the same categories: Alberto, brad pitt, cigarettes, Colin Farrell, Courtney Cox, Madonna, new economy, Old Economy

13 Comments on “Fridays, Hats And Cigarettes (Or How To Profit From The Newport Economy)”

  1. meettravis Says:

    you really need to put all all your post in a book and “sell it”.

  2. chartreuse Says:

    o.k., you ‘help me’.🙂

  3. range Says:

    Maybe a column in something like Wired or a tech mag couldn’t be too bad either. Char has a lot of good ideas put forward in a most peculiar way.

  4. chartreuse Says:

    I got this. And it’s doing fine.
    Want to see some really good stuff, check out Travis’ videoblog. And I’m not just saying that. He gets the medium.

    The real question is how come you (range) don’t get flack like I do for crediting pictures the same way as me? That shit ain’t right.🙂

  5. Brian Says:

    Great story. I can’t wait till I get all my instructional posting out of the way and can cut loose like this!

  6. chartreuse Says:

    I was comparing our traffic a few days ago Brian. Though we started blogging at the same time, I have only beaten you traffic wise 2 days.

    That’s it, 2 freakin’ days in 6 months.

    I would stick with the instructional posting if I was you…

  7. TerryC Says:

    That guy has to sell a lot of cigarettes to make a profit. Maybe he should sell weed!
    (just kidding!)

  8. Andy H Says:

    Instructional posting always gets more traffic and links.

    Although, depending on your industry, it can be outright painful to write…

  9. chartreuse Says:

    I think the picture of Courtney Cox threw people off. This is an instructional post!

  10. range Says:

    char: the reason why is that… I’m not commenting on that, it’s the reason why I didn’t comment on it before either.


  11. This is a great post. One I understand Chartreuse.

    A free market is a good market.

    Bartering is another way to generate revenue – maybe not monetarily but for services rendered or items. I find sometimes when I ask for help it all comes out ina way most people fail to understand because sometimes I become blinded by what I want rather than what I need and have passion for. Like anyone else I want to share my experience and knowledge and make a living doing so.

    This is genuine honesty.

    Don’t ask me to consume; help me to create.

    cheers!

  12. Brian Says:

    Char, yeah.. Even the damn videos are the same way. Such is my life.

    Travis, that is good work. But I already knew you were talented — we may never know how much Prince is remixing off of you.🙂


  13. […] I noticed a blog comment refering to another blog. That reference didn’t feature a URL, but only the name of the blogger. — In every case, that would work, if every blogger around could be identified by a unique […]


Leave a Reply

