september eleventh two thousand and one

Let me be honest.

Ever since 9/11 I have questioned my government

my fellow citizens

and even myself.


Five years ago today my wife at the time and I were scheduled to fly to St. Louis to visit her folks.

I got up and turned on CNN like I did everyday and watched the world I knew die.

After the second plane hit I rushed to the bank to withdraw all of our cash. I still don’t know why I did that but I didn’t think that credit cards would be of much use.

When I got back people had migrated to our home. It used to be a church so it was kind of apropos.

I remember that some of the chicks were freaking out.

And I remember spending a lot of time on the phone.

I remember telling my Dad to get his hand on as much cash as possible.

And being pissed I couldn’t reach my sister.

I’ll never forget the look of incompetence on the President’s face.

In the days afterward I felt kinda lost.

I don’t think I ever got my bearings back.

The world we live in has changed, mostly for the worse.

Or more than likely, we’re just paying more attention.

Asking more questions.

And trying to figure out why our neighbor’s sons are dead if Saddam had nothing to do with 9/11.

But life goes on.

I went 2-1 on my NFL picks.

Explore posts in the same categories: personal

10 Comments on “september eleventh two thousand and one”

  1. Brian Says:

    >>and watched the world I knew die.

    Yep.

    But at the same time, it made me grow up in a big way.

    It’s no coincidence that our first child was born 10 months later.

    And that I’ve maintained my resolve to never do anything for money that makes me unhappy.

    Life is short and dangerous and really confusing.

    And all 9/11 really did was make that crystal clear.

  2. VampireFeet Says:

    I agree. I not only don’t trust the government, I’m suspicious of everyone. It’s the Kennedy murder and Nixon regime all over again.

  3. TerryC Says:

    I think it could have made this country stronger.
    Instead it made it weaker.

  4. Cynthia Says:

    The pictures made me cry. Great job.

  5. Jecklin Says:

    I agree with the paying more attention statement. I admit I’ve grown up wary of, and unwilling to depend on, the government, but 9/11 and then Katrina drilled into my thick skull permanently this as a fact of life in our time, and made urgent for me the question, alright, so how do I live? What adjustments should my spouse and I make?

    Because I’m still all about living well, thriving…nothing will ever change that.

    The positive thing is I feel closer and more bonded to the people I’m in contact with. Even people I don’t talk to much, neighbors etc…we’ve got each other’s back.

    But I don’t waste time and energy on those that can’t be depended on, and who aren’t willing to try.

  6. chartreuse Says:

    I just try to be the best man I can be.
    It’s hard.
    But you’re right. Forget the government.
    I depend on my music collection.🙂


  7. Was there this morning, footage on my site.

    I was in New Orleans, I’ve been to ground zero.

    This is the greatest country on earth.

    God Bless America and all it’s people.

  8. bizniche Says:

    Not to be insensitive, but I think 9-11, compared to “other catastrophic events” (pearl harbor, vietnam, bay of pigs, kennedy, even katrina), is a relative yawn. But then, I’m a numbers guy.

  9. bizniche Says:

    > other catastrophic events

    Sudan, Northern Uganda, Kosovo, Falun Gong, elections in Africa, abuses of migrant workers, modern day slave trade…. ……

  10. chartreuse Says:

    Your right biz. In the list of bad things that have happened 9/11 isn’t really too high on the list.
    But we Americans are very much into drama and hype. It’s a cultural touchstone. And we don’t have too many of them.


Leave a Reply

