Nick Denton’s B Game (Or The Idolator Problem)

I was a lucky teenager.

When I was 18 years old I moved in with a smart, hot 28 year old divorcee.

The night I moved in with her she told me that she was going to teach me something.

How to fuck.

Not make love.

Not have sex.

Fuck.

Because, as she elegantly informed my still tender ears

“…sometimes a woman doesn’t want flowers. She just wants to get laid.”

It was an interesting three years.

Flash Forward 2 years ago.

I was having an argument with my then girlfriend soon to be hooker. She looked at me and told me,in all seriousness

“You really need to learn how to fuck.”

Three years of intense training and 18 years of experience down the drain.

It seems I had a problem then that Nick Denton seems to be having now.

Not bringing your A game.

Idolator is the new music site by Nick Denton.

Like the chick who knew that I spent three years in sex school, people go to Nick Denton’s sites expecting something.

I don’t have to tell you what it is because you either get it or you don’t.

So when the word went out that Denton was starting a music site I was stoked.

No business is as incompetent and influential as the music business.

It’s been begging for the Denton treatment for years.

I was expecting Idolator to kill.

Instead, it’s stillborn.

The writing is good (Nick knows writers) But the editor is oh so lame.

If you’re going to make fun of the music business, really do it.

Don’t do a piece on the Universal Music chief and then show me a picture of some used to be funny movie character.Be honest. Show me a picture of Doug Morris.

And music fans don’t need three stories about zune in one day.

In other words,

Learn how to fuck.

Cuz no one visits Denton’s sites for the flowers.

Explore posts in the same categories: 17, 27, blog networks, cursing, Doug Morris, flowers, fuck, Gawker Media, idolator, Nick Denton, personal, review, Zune

13 Comments on “Nick Denton’s B Game (Or The Idolator Problem)”

  1. TDH Says:

    I have no idea how good or bad Idolator is, but it sure looks bland.

    Love the post though. Where did you find the book cover? It’s brilliant.

  2. Mr Angry Says:

    Ohhhh, man, you forgot your A game? That’s harsh.

  3. Timothy Says:

    The new Denton site is exactly what sex shouldn’t be: boring.
    You are right again Char.

  4. Josh Says:

    Being good at fucking is subjective. Just because your first girl thought she trained you sufficiently (and you probably thought you learned sufficiently from her teachings) doesn’t mean any other girl will consider that a good fuck.

    Many things besides beauty are in the eye of the beholder.

  5. chartreuse Says:

    Yeah, I kinda learned that first hand!🙂

  6. TerryC Says:

    I remember Donna and that hot crazy hooker! I’m sure all the new readers to this site don’t know these people but for us ‘early adopters’ it was great hearing another Donna story!

    Oh, and Denton has lost it. He hasn’t launched a successful site in a long time. I think you were being kind of harsh on Idolator but it’s not going to be another Gawker, that’s for sure.

  7. Liz Strauss Says:

    I tried reading the new Denton site . . . I disagree, I don’t even like the writing. It sounds like it’s geared for little kids watching TV.

  8. chartreuse Says:

    You’re the writing expert Liz.
    I just found the whole thing kinda…blah.

  9. Duncan Says:

    What they do need to learn in how to wrap headline text, WTF were they thinking with the design? headlines spewing out to the right of the block text below it…it’s just bizarre and looks third rate.

  10. chartreuse Says:

    I didn’t even talk about the design. You are right. It’s not A level.
    By the way, I wanted to link to it but never got the chance, but that article you wrote for the Blogging Times last week was great!

  11. Roy T Says:

    I was dissapointed as well. Nick has a good thing, but sometimes you just cant put the Gawker sound on everything, its like putting canned cheese on a filet mignon.

    That’s probably why sites like his Lifehacker and Gizmodo do so well because they are straight forward serious with a flamboyant coat on. Just like Calacanis in his interview pics.

  12. scrapbook Says:

    nice post…i like it….yeahhhh!!!!


Leave a Reply

