The Friday Remix (The “Slow Motion Death Of The Music Business” Edition)


The music business is nothing but the drug business. It is being run by a bunch of fuckups. So an industry that can’t sell CDs, and can’t get people to go to concerts, are now going to try to pull artsts from where audiences actually are? Jeez! The music business is dead. Somebody just forgot to tell Morris.

It’s obviously a threat to get a peice of the social media business without the majors having to do any of the work. The sad part is that they could have owned social media by working with the original Napster. Instead they acted as if they were the mafia. And ended up destroying themselves. These people belong on street corners not in boardrooms.


Yahoo Sports breaks a big story.

Last day to vote in the Sharkride Vegas Concept Competition

Get small fast!


In smarter music circles people have been talking about the launch of SpiralFrog. The company recently announced a deal with Universal Music that will permit consumers to legally download music tracks for free from SpiralFrog’s advertising-supported website. Universal gets a cut of the ad-revenue.Here’s an interview with the CEO.

We’ll be running our video from New Orleans on Monday. The state also just secured a $200 million dollar movie deal.

What happened to Blog Networks?

Busy Saturday? Amanda’s inviting you to her party.

I have one NFL pick for this week. The Giants will upset Philadelphia.

Why do pauses ruin a movie but not a book?

Putting holes in walls.

You’re smart, right? Do you really need an organization?

Need an idea to work on this weekend?

todays art provided by luckylulub529re2.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Amanda Congdon, blog networks, Books, luckylulu, music business, My NFL Picks, New Orleans, Organizations, Reggie Bush, SharkRide, smart people, SpiralFrog

20 Comments on “The Friday Remix (The “Slow Motion Death Of The Music Business” Edition)”


  1. Ethan would kill in the record business. He gets it. Too bad I have him locked into a lifetime personal services contract.

  2. VampireFeet Says:

    I love LuckyLulu!

    And I liked the blog network link. I hadn’t seen that site before.

  3. Jordan Glasner Says:

    Why would you risk your college eligibility for a lousy hundred grand, when you’re Reggie F’ing Bush. I hope this story gets proven wrong, and it’s just Yahoo grasping for a story.

    I mean I understand some average college player wanting the easy cash, but Reggie’s going to have fuck you money in the near future.

  4. chartreuse Says:

    I think the story is probably true. But it won’t get traction.

    I’m torn on the college football question. Everybody in big college sports is making real money, all on the backs of kids who get nothing.

    Reggie Bush made the school millions. 100k is cheap…


  5. […] You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your ownsite. […]

  6. Jordan Glasner Says:

    Oh, I’m not saying the schools shouldn’t pay their athletes. Maybe some sort of savings program for when 99% of them dont’ go pro. However, today’s players, especially ones w/ $100 million endorsement deals in the waiting, need to err on the side of caution.

  7. Josh Says:

    Char,

    I would hardly call a free ride to a major university, free room and board, free tutoring, free scheduling and who knows what else the typical superstar at a top Division 1-A program receives as nothing. True, they don’t receive nearly what the school receives but in what business does the employee reap a fraction of what management does?

  8. chartreuse Says:

    I agree with you, I think a savings program may help, but it blurs the line between pro and amature athlete.

    Celebrities live different lives. Reggie was the golden child so it was in the best interest of the school that be happy. Rules be damned. The real question is who gme him the money.

  9. chartreuse Says:

    josh,
    The millions being made by these schools are being done on the backs of those athletes. And despite the aminities the one thing they don’t get is cash.

    i’m not choosing sides.

    It’s a tough question.

  10. kid mercury Says:

    cant believe the comments regarding the eagles. watch as mcfabulous proves who the best qb in the nfc really is.

  11. Noah Brier Says:

    Giants over Philly is hardly an upset . . .

  12. DudeAsInCool Says:

    The music business run by the conglomerates is doomed–they are completely out of it

  13. ann michael Says:

    WOW Char – thanks for the link! You’d like my dad!

    (and Loren – Ethan is adorable)


  14. Thanks Ann he is a good kid. Wait till you hear his thoughts on the scalabilty of web video.

  15. Mark Says:

    Here in Houston, the story of Reggie’s troubles was tossed about by some “unnamed” Texans’ officials as part of the reason they passed on him in the draft.

    They may not win a bunch of games, but I can tell you that they are a true stand up organization from the owner on down. So I wouldn’t doubt the validity of the unofficial statment.

    Thanks for the link by the way!

  16. Brian Says:

    Ethan, Char and Loren can’t see the obvious truth about RSS…

    At least Ethan has an excuse…


  17. Brian
    I’m into rss, talk to char and ethan. I just ask the questions. Also no need to go easy on Ethan just because he is short.


  18. Yeah the music business is the Mafia and the RIAA is the hitmen (sorry about the bad grammar).

    I download free, legal mp3s from Amazon or from net labels when I want new music to listen to and burn to CD. Very rarely do I buy music anymore at the record store, but when I do, I go to Barnes & Noble, which allows customers to return CDs with skips in them, which WalMart will not do.

    Now we’re seeing the DIY culture invade the mainstream.

    End of Stardom, Rise of Everyone is my mantra. Make your own movies, your own music, your own website, your own entertainment, then share it with other consumer-producers like yourself.

    Boycott all commercial television and Hellywood.


  19. P.S. I think RSS is, as Dave Winer stated recently, good primarily for news updates at news sites.

    RSS subscribers to blogs and videos? Okay, but I don’t like using RSS readers. I prefer to visit manually.


  20. […] I’m eating some kickass food. And I load up my iTunes. After awhile I turn the controls over to the cool kids and we play the best music of the century all in the MySpace Music Search Engine. If I was smart like Chartreuse I would say this was the end of the music industry. But that’s not the point. This is the end of the boombox and Boone’s Parties. I’m officially old. I was told this last night when I asked some of the Cool Kids about some music I used to listen to. […]


Leave a Reply

