A Saturday Post: No Matter What Katie Couric Thinks


We think it’s the lens.

But sometimes we’re the one out of focus.


So I’m spending Friday night with a bottle of wine, some girl with a fake name and Bill Maher.

He mentions the fact that the “free Speech” segment on the CBS Nightly news asked him if he had something to say.

He wanted to talk about religion.

They told him he couldn’t talk about that.

So much for “Free Speech.”

Free Speech is not a privilege, it’s a right.

I don’t have to agree with you but I do have to stand up for your right to say it.

Unfortunately too many people want other folks to shut up, making it uncomfortable for other folks to stand up.

I also watched the new Survivor this week.

I loved it. But I don’t know if the rest of the country will.

Of course the Asians won the puzzle challenge, of course the Black people kicked out the strong male and of course the White guy was completely confused why he got exiled after stealing other people’s shit.

Even as individuals we are sometimes slaves to things we can’t control.

Starting Monday I am going to be running video from the trip to New Orleans some of the readers (and myself) financed.

Both Travis and Loren saw the same things but each put together their own versions of the same story. Some of it will be shocking. Some of it will be typical. But I think the entire thing is arresting.

Will it make a difference?

Probably not, but that’s not the point.

The point is that we are privileged to live in a world and at a time where you can broadcast your views to almost everyone.

There are so many of us.

And we all have different views and opinions.

I hope this project inspires you to stand up and tell yours.

No matter what Katie Couric thinks.

Explore posts in the same categories: 1938 media, bill maher, cbs, FREE SPEECH, Katie Couric, Survivor, Survivor Series, Team New Orleans, Travis Campbell, you

7 Comments on “A Saturday Post: No Matter What Katie Couric Thinks”

  1. vanesica Says:

    The internet is like the wild west. We are all coming out so to speak. Being able to speak freely and write what we want to is a god given right. TV doesn’t allow it. The internet does.

    There are so many of us.

    That video made me smile. It was beautiful. Hope.

    The only thing that stops me from commenting is fear of getting my words mixed up. Maybe mixing them up is – another day.

    Very nice post chartreuse


  2. If that’s true about Bill maher – that is just too classic. It saddnes me that this happens.

    You are so right about too many people wanting others to shut up.

    I would love to defend Bush simply on the fact that if everyone thinks he is stupid – he can’t be (like stock trading) and I think he just may not be. But what concerns me most of this administartion and the media today is you can talk until you don’t agree – after that just shut up. Bummer

  3. VampireFeet Says:

    nice post.

    Wwho knows what the deal is with Bush. It hs been under his administration that peopl have been told to shut up. We don’t want to actors opinions on politics but we want to know everything else about them. That’s funny.

    And I saw Bill talk about that on his show Friday night. At least he has a show to complain from. I like Bill and he really loves the black chicks!

  4. chartreuse Says:

    it’s an ok post. just something i was thinking about.
    have a great weekend folks!

  5. jeff marks Says:

    CBS… what else do you expect from a pig, but a grunt!


  6. Free Speech is even more than a “right” or a “status” or a political policy (democracy).

    Free Speech is a natural reflex that is conditioned out of us by our peer group, parents, churches, schools, and governments. I love how schizophrenics and drunk ppl just blurt out anything they think at any time, and don’t care what anyone thinks.

    Children also do that. They are less inhibited. I find myself really angry at missed opportunities to be blunt and confrontational. I get mad at myself for not standing up and speaking out sometimes. I regret occasional lapses in combativeness a lot more than I regret saying something rashly.

    I don’t care what actors or “celebrities” think about anything. I don’t want to know anything at all about them, since I don’t watch movies much or pay any attention to Entertainment Tonight.

    But we all have to speak our minds, whether the “right” is granted or not.

    That’s what the blogosphere and videosphere are all about. In fact a reserved or censored blogger/vlogger is a contradiction in terms. Like “military intelligence” or “good pastor” or “docudrama”.


Leave a Reply

