The Second Rule Is “Do Not Become A Cheerleader”

I spent the summer writing a small book for my daughter listing the rules she should follow to have a cool life.

Beside never becoming a cheerleader one of the most important (to me) was to not have any respect for the law.

Though my ex thinks I am trying to turn my Destiny into a delinquent modern times prove me right once again.

So the single mother who got sued by the RIAA and went to court lost.

The chick used the same username to get dates on Match.com. It was obvious she was guilty.

But, of course, the reason she took it to trial wasn’t about guilt.

We all know what the law says and find it pretty stupid.

I, for one, don’t have much respect for laws anyway. I prefer to stand on principles, they don’t change.

While this case is getting all the (digital) ink another important case affecting your future is going on.

Virgin Ad. Girl Sues.

Alison Chang (the girl in the picture above) is suing Virgin Mobile for causing her “grief and humiliation”. The photo came from Flickr and the photographers there have a lot to say on it.

Now most of the noise about this picture has to do with the Creative Commons license.

I’m not going to get into the debate except to say that I think folks are missing the bigger picture.

This case is really about who has control over your image.

If a photographer gives his rights away should the subject in the photo suffer?

You don’t have to be a rocket scientist to see that power is shifting to the bottom. That being the case, it seems obvious what the verdict should be.

But like I said, I have no respect for the law.

They are always years behind.

Alison will lose, just like the chick who fought the RIAA and we will lament how bad it is.

Then 5 years later, when kids are sending files by fucking osmosis, the law will get digital filesharing under control.

Just stick to your principles. That way you can never be wrong.

Even if you’re a cheerleader.

Explore posts in the same categories: Alison Chang, Cheerleaders, creative commons, filesharing, flickr, Janet Jackson, laws, RIAA, Virgin Mobile

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “The Second Rule Is “Do Not Become A Cheerleader””


  1. Why not to become a cheerleader? Would love to know your reason.

  2. chartreuse Says:

    Before this becomes a referendum on cheerleaders I would like to say that some of my best friends stood on the sidelines in short skirts and to give moral support to a bunch of sweaty men who only saw them as sex objects.

    Second, stop talking to my exes!

    My daughter would be a great cheerleader. She would be better quarterback. As I wrote to my daughter, it’s all about creating your own image instead of letting society dictate them to you.

    Got it?

  3. Pj Says:

    Judging by your pictures and subject matter I can see why you have an ex wife. If we all stood on your principals we would have ex wives too.

  4. chartreuse Says:

    Well if you can’t judge a man by the pictures on his blog, what can you judge him by?🙂

    I’m you were trying to insult me Pj, but I’ve been called worse by smarter people. But thanks for coming by. You are always welcome.

  5. adam coles Says:

    No FATHER wants his daughter to be a cheerleader.

  6. engtech Says:

    But… save the cheerleader, save the world!

    I’m so confused now.

    I don’t know why people are having trouble with “be yourself, not a conformist”. Easy message to digest.

    The Creative Commons is a frivolous lawsuit because the photographer had to mark his photos as such. The default licensing settings on Flickr wouldn’t have allowed Virgin to use his photos commercially even if they were CC.

    Kind of scary if you have to start getting releases from people even if you’re an amateur photographer. But I also notice that I try to avoid being in digital photos more and more now simply because who knows where they’ll end up.


  7. […] The Second Rule Is “Do Not Become A Cheerleader” [image] I spent the summer writing a small book for my daughter listing the rules she should follow to have a cool […] […]

  8. range Says:

    I’m a part time photographer and I have 10000 photos on my Zooomr account, in original size. They are all private and I do not share them. That’s a way to make sure that your rights are respected.

    I use them as a database and sell them to magazines in Taipei, it’s worked well and nobody rips me off.


Leave a Reply

