Not Every Artist Is Reacting Well To The New Music Business Reality

 

Kia Shine (no, I hadn’t heard of him either) checked in with his Myspace friends with a bulletin on Thursday (October 4). He wasn’t happy:

What up to all my Myspace Kinfolks and fam outhere reading this bulletin… it’s been a minute since I been on my page, but I’m back like I forgot something. First thing first… I have 38,000 myspace freinds, DO ALL OF YOU HAVE MY CD ‘DUE SEASON’? This is not a shot at any of you that have it, thanks from the bottom of my heart, but for those of you that claim to support my music and movement and still haven’t went to Best Buy or even ITUNES where they have the CD for 7.99, your really trippin.

Let me define support. It means to go an BUY the CD, RINGTONE, SHOW TICKET ETC, I was talking to this person, I won’t name names, but they stayed my face all night while I was in a particular club, talking about how they’d been following my music since Tv’s and Streetwars, and even Diamond Cut, (that was my first label for those of you who dont know). This person went on & on about how they loved all the music and video etc etc, even tried to buy me drinks, that were 10 dollars a peice, then I asked about songs that where not singles that where on my ‘Due Season’ CD like ‘Face Card’, and ‘Due Season’, this person was like they hadn’t heard those, I asked, have you bought my cd… The look on this person’s face was so funny I wish I had a picture… Then came the excuses and apologies, and I’m going to go get it 2morrow first thing…

Maybe I’m too sensitive today, but Kia, I don’t have to buy your record to show I’m a fan. I can maybe…buy you a drink.

And dump it on your head! 

 

I never bought any of his records but I love Mellencamp as a person. A true artists who bleeds in his work. 

That being said, can you figure out what song John Mellancamp is ripping off here?  I was told  it might be a Bob Dylan song but I’m not sure…perhaps it is original, just sounds familiar, not a bad song🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: jena, john mellencamp, kia shine, MySpace, other ways to pay

10 Comments on “Not Every Artist Is Reacting Well To The New Music Business Reality”


  1. […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

  2. Liz Strauss Says:

    I think it’s original.

  3. chartreuse Says:

    I thing you’re right Liz.

  4. Cindy Says:

    You are being too hard on the guy. If you like an artist you should buy the album. What’s wrong with expecting fans to do that?

  5. Dave Says:

    Cindy,

    I disagree with you more. Artists can’t pick and choose the relationships with their audience. The best that they can do is make the best music they can, put on the best show possible and then try to connect.

    This artists is complaining that someone PAID to go to a show and offered to buy him a drink, and that was not enough. That is a big “Fuck You” in my book. This was a post to his fans and he belittled a fan on this post. Why didn’t this artist tell the fan, “The drink would be great, but how about I sell you my CD for the same price?” That would be a great fan story. This guy now comes across as a smuck that got his rocks off putting down a fan on his MySpace page. If the artist thing doesn’t work out for him, he definately has a future working for the RIAA.

  6. range Says:

    That was good that bit from the artist’s MySpace page. Music artists have to adapt to the new reality in the digital age.

  7. Brad Ross Says:

    Thanks for blogging my photo. A small note giving me props would be nice when blogging some ones photo…. especially if it is ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.


Leave a Reply

