fireworks

learning

So my girlfriend’s husband wants his wife back.

And all of a sudden I feel like the bad guy in a pedestrian novel.

But this is not a day to celebrate uncomfortableness.

Or is it?

trying

One of the great things about America is the right I have to make you uncomfortable.

To make you squirm a little.

To make you question what you think.
obeying

It was that uneasiness that got women the right to vote,

blacks from the back of bus

and gays in front of the altar.

cooking

There is something uniquely American about a thorn in your side.

Because despite the pain we manage to find the rose.

And embrace the right thing.

smear

Even if she’s not your wife.

Explore posts in the same categories: Army Of One

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “fireworks”

  1. VampireFeet Says:

    Awesome post on so many levels.

  2. Louise Marina Sanchez Says:

    Before Steve Hodson praised your blog I had never heard of you but I decided to ad you to my feedreader anyway. I am glad I did.

    I was already impressed with the provocative opening line and the pictures but the thing that really made me realize what Steven was talking about was when I clicked the links.You put my brain into overdrive as I put together how the seemingly unrelated links fit into your uniquely skewed view of what makes America great. I wanted to cry.

    I just spent the last hour reading most of your posts over the years. You are truly an amazing blogger. Thank you for sharing.

  3. TV1Turtle Says:

    Very poetic. An interesting way to celebrate 4th of July I see. I like the theme of these pics.

    Thanks for the reflection.

    TV1Turtle


Leave a Reply

