The Chartreuse Election Preview (Or the secret to winning a vote, a sale or a girlfriend.)

Remember this cuz it’s important:

You don’t really change people’s minds with facts.

You change people’s minds by changing the way they view themselves.

It’s common knowledge that l’m a pretty liberal guy.

Back in 2004 I was completely confused by George W. Bush supporters.

I would argue with them all the time.

Until one of them told me something which completely changed the way I looked at the world.

“Prince, ” she said, “I just see myself as someone who’s all for protecting this country.”

And therein lies the secret to winning a vote, a sale or a girlfriend.

Fuck facts.

You must change the way people see themselves.

I was fortunate enough to be raised by parents who were big on transforming the way we thought about ourselves and the world.

My mom fought to put in a Jewish private school that only had 2 black kids in it if you counted me.

The church we went to was probably the most multicultural place on the planet. We had white, black, and Hispanic people at our home almost every week.

We Campbell kids learned quickly to see ourselves as part of something global and different. And that was cool.

Here’s the bottom line on how the world really works and Tuesday’s election.

The media is not as powerful as you think.

There is no such think as an undecided voter.

This election (like every election) is all about the way we see ourselves.

The way we see our country.

Or I should say

The way we want to see our ourselves.

And the way we want to see country.

.

And that’s why it’s gonna be close.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Explore posts in the same categories: advertising, Army Of One, elections, personal

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “The Chartreuse Election Preview (Or the secret to winning a vote, a sale or a girlfriend.)”

  1. Tina Says:

    First I saw the costumes as something for Halloween. Then I realized you were talking about the way we see ourselves (which must be why you put the naked couple last). Very clever Char.

    I don’t agree with you all the time (example: I think facts are important) but reading your blog always makes look a bit deeper.

    Obama/Biden 08!

  2. chartreuse Says:

    Yeah, glad you caught that…that was my intention all along…🙂
    [note to self: the people who read this blog are sooo much smarter than me!]

  3. JD Arney Says:

    I was with you until the end. It might not be a full on landslide, but Obama should win handily. Could be I have my optimistic blinders on, but I believe he’s going to have a healthy mandate.

    And I think it’s because most people want to see our country change. And because many people want to see themselves as color blind.

  4. vinylart Says:

    (Get that tongue outta your cheek,😉.)

    We are mixed up aren’t “we the people”? Perception becomes reality? We see what we want? Life mirrors ourselves?

    It’s tough to work within the mental framework of sheep. Makes my brain twitch.

    Peace.


Leave a Reply

