An Open Letter To White People (Or some quick thoughts about that elephant in the room)

faith

I’ll be honest.

I didn’t have much faith in you guys.

1965

1968

Some of your parents did some pretty fucked up shit to my parents and though I try not to hold it against you personally, it still kinda just sits there sometimes.

We still over-dress, or act certain ways around ‘you people’ sometimes because some of us still carry that fucking heavy-ass baggage from years ago thinking we are judged at a different standard than some typical white guy.

Oh, I know my white friends are different.

But in general…

We don’t know if you spent last night discussing how right Bill O’Reilly was while watching Fox News or if you are like us and just watch so we can bitch about it to our friends the next day.

surprise

So yeah, I didn’t really have much faith.

You surprised me.

And I apologize for that.

(Being surprised.)

But the good news is (because of you) my daughter won’t ever be.

Thanks.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Explore posts in the same categories: chartreuse (beta), personal

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “An Open Letter To White People (Or some quick thoughts about that elephant in the room)”

  1. Michel Says:

    An OMG! moment in time!

  2. Tina Says:

    Your welcome, Char!
    There are still lots of problems out there but now at least there is hope!

  3. Franklin Says:

    Beautiful as usual. And you are welcome!
    We white people don’t exactly trust ‘you people’ either but we’re working on it. That’s a good thing!

  4. Roberta S. Says:

    I was offended.
    You people!
    No faith is us?

    The problem with the races is that people other than whites expect whites to take care of them. Take care of yourselves and things will be ok!

  5. tintin Says:

    Let me say what is going through everyone’s minds.
    That ‘surprise’ picture is AWESOME!🙂


  6. Haha. Char, plenty of us whiteys were worried about us whiteys. Especially us older whiteys.

    Maybe we can all take one Mother-may-I step forward towards color-blindness.

    A gal can dream, can’t she?

  7. chartreuse Says:

    Yeah, I guess we all can Ms. C!

    And Roberta, it’s just a blog post. Relax!🙂

  8. LG Says:

    I have read your blog for years and for some reason this post made me uncomfortable. I don’t know why. I don’t think you said anything racist like Roberta thinks. It just feels uncomfortable.
    I think because it sounds so honest. Keep it up, Dude!

  9. Matt Craven Says:

    You should have more faith.😉

    Even my home state of Indiana voted for Obama.

    m


  10. Raising the glass on this one…

  11. vinylart Says:

    Nicely said, man. I’ve got my take on my blog yesterday.

    “They still call it the White House
    But that’s a temporary condition, too.
    Can you dig it, CC?” – George Clinton/Parliament 1975 (when I was born)

  12. Brian Clark Says:

    My cracker ass says “You’re welcome.”

    Seriously, your daughter *will* grow up thinking differently, as will my kids. That’s what’s so exciting.

  13. chartreuse Says:

    Two things are really cool about this new America to me.
    That our generation did it ( we slackers, hip hoppers, goth, geeks, etc. folks).
    And that our parents got to see us do it.

  14. Dave Says:

    There was a bunch of people protesting in front of the Mormom temple on Santa Monica this afternoon. As a species, we always find ways to fuck over one another and define “minorities” so the “majorities” can feel superior.

    Because there will be a ceremony on January 20, 2009 in which Chief Justice John Roberts will hold a bible and say “Do you Barack Huessein Obama promise to uphold the office of PRESIDENT OF UNITED STATES”, I think that Prop. 8 won’t last longer than 2 years. It feels really good that we, me and you and our little tax deductions, have the power to make a better world. It’s really a different world.

  15. Dave Says:

    Here are the actual words:

    “I, Barack Hussein Obama, do solemnly swear that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”

    If just putting this in a fucking comments section on a blog brings tears to my ears, I will need to take that entire week off.

  16. Jeff Marks Says:

    Very well said my man!

  17. Gabe Says:

    Nice. You gave me some chills there at the end.


Leave a Reply

