little girl lost

Experience kills.

In my younger days I used to be a bit of a rake.

I would juggle girls all the time, being faithful to none, as I enjoyed each of their charms.

So when the opportunity came to have a clandestine relationship with one of my wife’s friends I barely hesitated.

I could handle it.

I was experienced.

Needless to say, it ended badly and hurt a lot of people, me most of all.

But that’s what experience does to people.

It gets them lost.

The same thing happens to companies.

They feel they’ve “been there, done that” and assume they got it all under control.

The print media thought that when they got on the internet.

Friendster thought that as new competitors came around.

So did Microsoft and Yahoo.

One of the big lies is that history repeats itself.

It doesn’t.

The Zen masters have it right.

You never step in the same river twice.

The river, just like a new situation, isn’t the same.

Research has shown that the best survivors of intense situations (like being lost in the woods) are children 6 and under.

The worse, children 7-12.

The reasons are obvious.

The younger children follow there instincts. If they are tired, they rest. If they are cold, they find shelter. They are in the moment.

Children between 7-12 are different.

They have some adult characteristics but don’t have adult judgement. They panic and run. They look for shortcuts. They can’t control their emotions.

So they die, just like some companies.

Experience kills.

Just like the best way to win a game a chicken is to throw away your steering wheel, the best way to handle new situation is to let go of your experience.

Be in the moment.

Accept things as they are.

And stop cheating on your wives.

Explore posts in the same categories: information

3 Comments on “little girl lost”

  1. Brian Clark Says:

    Jeez, man… both of my kids are under 6, but you’ve just scared the hell out of me for the next 10 years.

  2. chartreuse Says:

    your kids will be fine. just stay out of the woods!

  3. vinylart Says:

    Kind of brilliant, as I’m reading Brian’s comment I realize that your post sort of is a koan, those thingies that lead to satori and the momentary yet eternal recognition of Life as it “is”.

    Scare me. I’m open. Teach. Become timeless.

    Peace.


Leave a Reply

