The Insignificance Of The Grammys

It’s always the best of times.

Music For The Masses

One day I had a huge fight with my parents.

One of those really nasty fights.

They didn’t get me.

I felt lost. I felt angry. I felt alone.

After the fight my brother walked up to me and asked me to take a ride with him. So I got into the passenger side of his black Honda Accord hatchback and he put in a Depeche Mode CD.

I wasn’t a big DM fan at the time but he went to track 1 of their “Music For The Masses” album and blasted it as he drove down the dark roads of our Lousiana neighborhood.

He didn’t say a word. Neither did I.

We didn’t pick up any alcohol or weed. We just drove for a an hour or so with “Never Let Me Down Again” on repeat. And I felt better.

Then we went home and I talked to my parents.

Whenever the Grammys arrive I think about that ride.

But mostly I think about all of us. And our confusion and anger.

The fact that we feel so alone and the power of music to make you feel that someone out there gets you.

No matter how many Facebook contacts or MySpace friends you have Few things are as important as a great song.

Except maybe a great brother.

Enjoy the Grammys.

Explore posts in the same categories: Grammys, music

10 Comments on “The Insignificance Of The Grammys”


  1. […] BUZZGRINDER created an interesting post today on The Insignificance Of The GrammysHere’s a short outline […]

  2. Robert Bruce Says:

    Or a good beer.

    With a great brother.

    And a great song playing on the jukebox.
    😉

  3. Brian Clark Says:

    As an only child, I have to settle for you and Robert. But that sounds pretty good to me.

  4. live7n Says:

    Music For The Masses is a great album and a great musical experience.

  5. Jer Says:

    Ditto Brian…

  6. chartreuse Says:

    Welcome to the family.

    I will now put you both in a headlock and make you clean me and Robert’s rooms.🙂

  7. Nishu Says:

    yeah some thing are valueable .. like old friends and old comics collection

  8. range Says:

    Gram what? I didn’t even know what that was…🙂

    Seriously, I’ve stopped watching award shows about 18 years ago. They are just a waste of time.

  9. vinylart Says:

    The primal emotion that great music captures touches on the eternal by being ephemeral. It always is individual and timeless, as you said in another post, yet it is global and provides mass moments like concerts to anchor our lives in the flow of Life.

    Everything and its opposite.

    Peace.


Leave a Reply

