How To Make Your Blog Network STAND OUT in the crowd

 flower girl

 Everyday some kid is upstairs in his room writing a hit record. But you never hear it.

There are suddenly lot of blog networks popping up. Folks working in their rooms making potentially hit sites.

But how many can you actually name?

The art of getting heard/read/seen above the din of your Rice Crispies is tough.

But let me show you how to do it. Step by step.

content

1. Content: This simple little word is the most important. You have to have something to say. You have to be able to tell it in an interesting way. And it has to be something someone wants to hear.

200272939-001.jpg

2. The Blog: Keep it simple. Don’t crowd it with ads everywhere and stuff that is irrelevent. Your website is the only experience a potential convert has with you. Make it a good one. Give them reasons to come back. In fact, tell them to come back.

200282966-001.jpg

3.Empower your readers. Give them something to do. Put them to action. You want to create a religion. And you can’t do that without self-made traditions. Invent phrases. Don’t be so fucking pedestrian. Empower them with different ways to spread the gospel of your site. RSS. Podcasts. Video. Comments. Digg. Tags. And ask for sacrements.

200290367-001.jpg

4.Tour: First thing in the morning and whenever you are free go to every site which is of interest to you and post a comment. A good comment. Something relevent and smart and interesting enough to make someone say “I need to check out that person’s website.”

200297684-001.jpg

5.Never Sell Out: the easiest way to lose in this day and age is jumping at the money. Nobody respects that. You aren’t like them anymore. And people like people who are like them. Hang in there, your fans will eventually make you rich.

2156187.jpg

Don’t repeat the formula.  Constantly evolve.  Madonna taught us this, and Google reinforced the paradigm.  If you’re not growing, you’re losing your audience. Why should they expect your site to always look the same and say the same things? 

Got it?

Explore posts in the same categories: blog media, blog networks, content, cursing, design, google, hype, money, Podcasting, video, Weblog

9 Comments on “How To Make Your Blog Network STAND OUT in the crowd”

  1. Andy Merrett Says:

    I think so 🙂 I’m liking your style a lot – I know what your catchphrase is, too.

  2. chartreuse Says:

    Ah, you caught that, huh? Nice.

  3. Roy T Says:

    Nice article, I think I’ll use the advice well as I am soon launching a network…but it isn’t going to be just a blog network. I think most blog networks are getting desperate and the quality in writing is getting weak. I’d rather have a few sites of phenomenal content than 150 of shit. Thanks for the lesson.

  4. chartreuse Says:

    Good idea Roy. And good luck!


  5. Content will always be the most important element of any website or network. It’s all in the writers.

  6. Roy T Says:

    I agree…the moto we go by – “THE PEOPLE WILL READ AGAIN!”. A few years back I ventured into starting a magaizne publication about lifestyle and people in Las Vegas, unfortunatly, the idea was taken by a larger unnamed company here so this is my new medium. I’ll post soon when we are about to launch.

  7. ME Strauss Says:

    Heck, those are network rules. Tell the truth. That’s a damn solid personal belief system if I ever saw one. And like all good one’s it applies to everything. Living, Food, Sex, Work, and Blog Networks.

    BTW, can I put your tagline on the back of my MR2?

    Liz

  8. RoyT Says:

    haha, Sure! Ok here goes. Im a bit nervous that I just linked the name of my new networks’ site, but there is really nothing there but a simple theme and some really basic info. Im saving the good stuff for the press release…and being that I am from Las Vegas..we are going to have a very special kind of blog (it should be exciting). I will keep you guys informed if you want


  9. […] That’s why I curse at adsense ads. Who gives a fuck about .03 cents when your main focus should be creating an audience. […]


Leave a comment